The Mother's Promise

A Novel

    • 4.4 • 156 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

A poignant and breathtaking novel from the author of The Things We Keep and The Secrets of Midwives.

All their lives, Alice Stanhope and her daughter, Zoe, have been a family of two, living quietly in Northern California. Zoe has always struggled with crippling social anxiety and her mother has been her constant and fierce protector. With no family to speak of, and the identity of Zoe’s father shrouded in mystery, their team of two works—until it doesn’t. Until Alice gets sick and needs to fight for her life.

Desperate to find stability for Zoe, Alice reaches out to two women who are practically strangers but who are her only hope: Kate, a nurse, and Sonja, a social worker. As the four of them come together, a chain of events is set into motion and all four of them must confront their sharpest fears and secrets—secrets about abandonment, abuse, estrangement, and the deepest longing for family. Imbued with heart and humor in even the most dismal moments, The Mother’s Promise is an unforgettable novel about the unbreakable bonds between mothers and daughters and the new ways in which families are forged.

Sally Hepworth novels are "sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up." —Library Journal (starred review)

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2017
February 21
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
St. Martin's Publishing Group
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
2
MB

Customer Reviews

irun2xs ,

Beautiful

Hard to read the last chapters with tears in your eyes….

jillpenn ,

Amazing book!

I have read every book she wrote! Loved them all!

Aprilcorder ,

Must read!!

Such a beautiful story! Got my attention from the first page!

More Books Like This

2015
2018
2016
2022
2006
2022

More Books by Sally Hepworth

2019
2021
2022
2018
2023
2015

Customers Also Bought

2012
2020
2016
2011
2021
2015