The Murder House The Murder House
Book 5 - DCI Matilda Darke Thriller

The Murder House

    • 4.4 • 46 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

‘Gory, brutal, devastating, utterly addictive and yet so finely written. This deserves to be huge – and I think it will be. His best yet’ Louise Beech

They were the perfect family. It was the perfect crime.

The new gripping DCI Matilda Darke crime thriller about the dark secrets that lie within a perfect family. For fans of Patricia Gibney and Angela Marsons.

It’s the most disturbing crime scene DCI Matilda Darke has ever seen…

The morning after a wedding reception at a beautiful suburban home in Sheffield, the bride’s entire family are stabbed to death – in a frenzied attack more violent than anything DCI Matilda Darke could have imagined.

Forensics point to a burglar on the run across the country. But cracks are starting to appear in Matilda’s team, someone is playing games with the evidence – and the killer might be closer to home than they thought…

Praise for The Murder House:

‘Matilda Darke is Sheffield’s answer to Northumberland’s Vera and Wood’s stories are up there with the best. Fast-paced, crisp writing and a thoroughly enjoyable read’ David Young, bestselling author of Stasi Child

Reviews

Praise for The Murder House:

‘Wood has created a fantastic lead character for his gritty South Yorkshire police procedurals. Matilda Darke is Sheffield’s answer to Northumberland’s Vera and Wood’s stories are up there with the best. Fast-paced, crisp writing and a thoroughly enjoyable read’ David Young

Praise for Michael Wood:

‘A tense, nail-biting story with a truly twisted ending’ Katerina Diamond

‘Watch out for those twists – you won't see them coming!’ Stephen Booth

‘A gritty and atmospheric thriller with more twists and turns than a hangman's knot. I loved it’ Matt Hilton

‘Solid storytelling and great unravelling of plot. Michael Wood ups the pace as the noose tightens’ Rachel Sargeant

‘Taut, twisting and sharp as a blade, The Hangman’s Hold wrong-footed me at every, devious turn’ Chris Whitaker

'Wood hit the ground running with For Reasons Unknown, first in the DCI Matilda Darke series. In the fourth instalment, The Hangman's Hold, he picks up the pace again with a twisting plot that races to a nail-biting finish’ Chris Simms

‘Bites into you like the rough twine of a hangman’s noose and refuses to let go. Tautly plotted, brilliantly realised, this is further proof that Michael Wood is only going to get better and better. The Hangman’s Hold is going to be big…’ Neil Broadfoot

‘You can count on Michael Wood to deliver a deliciously twisted and intriguing plot, leading to a surprise ending by a likeable and very real protagonist, Matilda Darke’ Yrsa Sigurdardottir

‘She is the perfect heroine’ Elly Griffiths

‘A pitch-black concept, tightly delivered and played at exhilarating pace’ Paul Finch

‘Crackling dialogue, dark wit and an exciting ending. Recommended if you liked Happy Valley’ Mark Edwards

‘DCI Matilda Darke is going places’ James Oswald

‘A compelling, addictive read, it’s hard to put down. I really enjoyed getting to know DCI Matilda Darke. She's strong character with real depth’ Robert Bryndza

About the author

Michael Wood is a freelance journalist and proofreader living in Sheffield. As a journalist he has covered many crime stories throughout Sheffield, gaining first-hand knowledge of police procedure. He also reviews books for CrimeSquad, a website dedicated to crime fiction.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
January 31
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
464
Pages
PUBLISHER
One More Chapter
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.9
MB

More Books Like This

Making of a Murderer Making of a Murderer
2023
The Seventh Victim The Seventh Victim
2023
Watch The World Burn Watch The World Burn
2010
Shattered Bones Shattered Bones
2021
The Complete Colony Series The Complete Colony Series
2019
Detective Catherine Bishop Detective Catherine Bishop
2022

More Books by Michael Wood

For Reasons Unknown For Reasons Unknown
2015
Outside Looking In (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 2) Outside Looking In (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 2)
2016
A Room Full of Killers (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 3) A Room Full of Killers (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 3)
2017
The Hangman’s Hold The Hangman’s Hold
2018
The Seventh Victim The Seventh Victim
2023
Stolen Children Stolen Children
2020

Customers Also Bought

For All Our Sins (DCI Claire Winters Crime Series, Book 1) For All Our Sins (DCI Claire Winters Crime Series, Book 1)
2015
Deadly Fate Deadly Fate
2023
Bad Blood Bad Blood
2023
Hidden Scars Hidden Scars
2022
Sudden Death Sudden Death
2022
When the Guilty Cry When the Guilty Cry
2021

Other Books in This Series

Stolen Children Stolen Children
2020
Time Is Running Out Time Is Running Out
2021
Survivor’s Guilt Survivor’s Guilt
2021
The Lost Children The Lost Children
2022
Silent Victim Silent Victim
2022
Below Ground Below Ground
2023