• $0.99

Publisher Description

You can never truly know what goes on behind closed doors…

 

My darling son, Sam, is marrying his childhood sweetheart and I couldn’t be prouder of the man he’s grown into. Walking out on his abusive father all those years ago was the best thing I ever did. And today he stands, tall and handsome, saying ‘I do’ to my dream daughter-in-law. If I hadn’t pushed them together all those years ago, he might never have found a girl as perfect as Lauren. It’s true what they say, mother always knows best.

 

But weeks later, Lauren is dead and police cars fill the driveway of their idyllic countryside home. As they question Sam, I sense he’s hiding something. Why won’t he look me in the eye? And who does he rush off to meet as soon as the police are gone?

 

Desperate, I do what every good mother would do: I let myself into Sam and Lauren’s bedroom. What I see, I will never be able to forget. My son’s beautiful new wife was hiding a dangerous secret. Can I clear my son’s name? And could my life be in danger now too?   

 

A completely gripping, utterly twisted thriller that will leave your jaw on the floor. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Wife Between Us and The Woman in the Window.

 

What readers are saying about The New Wife:

I LOVED it!… Had my mind going in a million directions trying to figure out what was going on. The twists and turns almost gave me whiplash!!!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Woooweeeee… My head was spinning… And that ending!!!!… Fantastic.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Wow! What a rollercoaster ride this book was… Totally gripped from the beginning.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Another WINNER!!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘An awesomely brilliant storyHad me on the edge until the very last page… Begs to be read in one sitting… Literally left me open mouthed!!!@RK_reads,⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Unputdownable.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Awesome. I did not want to this down!!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I loved this book Engaging and engrossing.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Wow. You will be on the edge of your seat until the very last page.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘The very definition of a page-turner… You don’t even realise you are reading until you’ve lost three hours and are twenty pages from the end.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

More twists and turns than a rollercoaster.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

Knocked it out of the park with the twist!’ Goodreads reviewer

 

‘A gripping read Suspense right from the start until the last page! KDRBCK, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Pulls you in from the first page… You won’t be able to put this one down!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Kept me guessing until the endOh so good.Silver’s Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I binged it in one day@Ladybug_shirls, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘An excellent thriller.’ @readingandwritingsentinel

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
November 19
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
395
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
4
MB

Customer Reviews

Lulustinson ,

Gripping must read!

What an absolutely gripping read! The beginning was slightly a slow start but soon enough I was sucked in through the rest of the book and spit back out at the end with quite satisfaction! There isn’t much I am able to tell without ruining the fun spiral of doubt created in this book so it’s best to just dive into this one clear headed and with as little information to truly enjoy it. It’s one of those that halfway through you think it’s done and it’s all figured out, how can there possible be more to the story? And gloriously there is!

Sam and Lauren have known eachother since toddlers. They grow up fall in love and marry. What is supposed to be their happily ever after ends quickly into disaster as Sam comes home late one evening and finds Lauren dead. His mom is Georgie and best friends with Lauren’s parents and together they have to navigate through the grief of losing Lauren and how/why she died. So many secrets! So many winding turns! Such a captivating read and one I highly recommend!

Mlawyer112 ,

Enjoyed!!!!!

My Review:
Sue Watson you are the Queen of Suspense!!!!! This book kept me guessing from the very first page to the very last page. I could not put this one down for the life of me nor did I want to. I had to find out the truth and find out what happened to Sam’s wife Lauren. They were young and newly married but was her fall really an accident. What secrets could the newly married couple be hiding and were they worth dying for? The whole book was Sam’s mother trying to piece together what really happened to her daughter in law. She devoted her whole life to her son and did not want her son to suffer one ounce of pain. She decided she wanted answers so they could all move on from this awful tragedy and put it behind them. As a mother myself I would do the exact same thing. I would never want to see my son hurt so I would do anything and everything in my power to help my son be happy again even if it means playing detective to find the real killer of my son’s wife. Sam’s mother in my opinion was a very relatable character due to this and that’s why I loved her so much. Now let’s talk about that shocking ending. That very last page, wow. I’m still trying to get over it. Every character in this book had secrets and boy they were all big ones. I would love a sequel to this book to find out what happens to everyone. I really got invested in all the characters and want to know if any of them found true happiness in the end. Sue Watson’s books are the best and I can’t wait for her next book.

Lastly, the characters, plot, and the ending of this book made this an easy and fast read. I would definitely recommend this book and happily give it 5 Hearts❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

KHHSC ,

Pulls you in from the first page!

Georgie is delighted when her son Sam marries his childhood sweetheart Lauren, the daughter of her best friends Tim and Helen. The wedding will unite both close knit families. But then, only weeks later, Lauren is found dead at the bottom of the staircase in the remote cottage she shares with Sam. He’s soon arrested for her murder and Georgie must confront her son’s possible guilt while also dealing with the fractured relationship with her best friends. She knows she has to solve Lauren’s murder to free Sam. Her investigation leads her on a dark, twisted path to the truth.

The New Wife pulls you in from the first page. You won’t be able to put this one down! Georgie’s loneliness and vulnerability make her a sympathetic character. Others are not but the main theme here is that things are not always what they seem. 5 stars,

Thank you to NetGalley, Bookouture and Sue Watson for this ARC.

More Books by Sue Watson