• $3.99

Publisher Description

She watched the man help her out of the car. How could he bring this woman here and not change a thing? She wondered if his new wife was going to be safe in this house.


Daniel is everything I ever dreamed of. A handsome, successful doctor who truly swept me off my feet. I can’t wait to get back from our honeymoon and begin our new lives together.


Except, rather than taking us back to our flat, Daniel announces we are moving to a new house in a different city. And when we arrive, the house is fully furnished, with plates in the cupboard, pictures on the walls and new clothes in my closet. It’s like someone already lives here. It seems a bit strange. But I know Daniel is just trying to make sure our new life is perfect, right from the start.


And it is perfect. He’s perfect.


Until one day, Daniel makes a mistake. One that has terrible consequences. And he blames me.


I suddenly don’t recognise the kind, selfless man I fell in love with.


And soon after, an elderly lady I’ve often seen on our street knocks on the door. She tells me that I need to be careful, that I can’t trust my husband.


That I should ask him what happened to his first wife.


Liz Lawler, the true master of psychological suspense, is back with a heart-stopping, dark and twisted story of what really goes on behind closed doors. Fans of Samantha Downing, B A Paris and JP Delaney will be totally enthralled by this completely addictive read.

Readers are gripped by Liz Lawler’s thrillers:


This book is a-ma-zing! It grabbed me from the first page and I could barely put it down. Even when I wasn't reading it, I was thinking about it… Thrilling, compelling and pretty terrifying.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


OMG, this book was bloody fantastic… I was awake half the night reading… A brilliant dark psychological thriller. If I could give it more than five stars I would it was that good.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘The plot was brilliantWicked smart… Maybe the best thriller I’ve read all year. So. Damn. Good. Read this book.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Suspense fans, this one’s for you! The mystery begins on page one and doesn’t let up until the very last chapter. I was so hooked.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


OMG absolutely fantastic read with brilliant characters. Very cleverly written. Had no idea who it was until Liz wanted you to know… This is a must read and I would highly recommend this book. Definitely worth more than 5*.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Devoured this book in a day. I thought that it was gripping, fascinating, slightly terrifying… A great psychological thriller.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


An addictive read… A fantastic novel that will hook you right in and leave you suspecting every single character…Five stars!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘A thriller that you will not be able to put down… I could not read fast enough… Top-notch!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Outstanding… Genuinely kept me guessing right up to the big reveal. A 5* book that is highly recommended.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Absolute must read… It's a cracking page turner.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘Keeps you on the edge of your seat. Once I started I had to keep going to find out what happened… It kept me guessing and turning the pages.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
November 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
395
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
2.1
MB

Customer Reviews

Abercrombie8765 ,

Suspenseful

Tess thought she was the luckiest girl in the world, meeting such a charming, handsome surgeon. After a whirlwind courtship, the happy couple moved from London to Bath. Then her charming husband started to show his true colors.

A book with domestic violence is always a touchy subject and I always take on a little of the mood of the book I’m reading. If I could only be content to read lighthearted, happy books, but I love a good psychological thriller and this one delivered.There was a sense of suspense as you wondered if Tess’ life was in danger and if her husband murdered his first wife. I’ve always wondered why you would stay with someone that makes you so unhappy, but I guess you need to walk a mile in their shoes to understand their choices.

By the end of the book, I was on the edge of my seat. The book is one part drama, one part mystery and an overall thriller

K328 ,

So good!!!

It was such a good read that I couldn’t put it down even when I was in bed and had to be up early. I highly recommend it

KHHSC ,

Psychological suspense!

The Next Wife is a domestic thriller. It is also the story of a woman who experiences horrific emotional and physical abuse by her husband. If that will make you uncomfortable in any way, this is not the book for you.

Tess Morris has married the man of her dreams after a whirlwind, brief courtship. He’s Daniel Myers, a respected London surgeon, with a gorgeous city apartment. In weeks, they are off to Bath for his new position at a local hospital. Their new home is an immense, completely furnished Georgian stone mansion. Within days, Daniel’s controlling nature becomes apparent. His behavior escalates as Tess feels trapped in a loveless marriage. Who can she trust? Meanwhile, Martha, an elderly woman, watches the house almost daily. Her caregiver, worried about her worsening dementia, tries to persuade her to stop. Why does she think Daniel is someone else who once lived in the same house? Why is she obsessed by Tess?

For the first half of The Next Wife, I couldn’t understand why Tess didn’t just leave Daniel. Run away while he was playing golf. Walk out when he was in the operating room. Then I realized that this is classic behavior. The abused wife loses her sense of self. Tess is a broken woman. The surprising conclusion of this thriller will take your breath away. 5 stars.

Thank you to NetGalley, Bookouture and Liz Lawler for this ARC.

More Books by Liz Lawler