The Nightingale Gallery The Nightingale Gallery
Book 1 - The Brother Athelstan Mysteries

The Nightingale Gallery

    • 4.3 • 88 Ratings
    • $0.99
    • $0.99

Publisher Description

A terrible power struggle threatens the very core of Britain…

In 1376, the Black Prince dies of a terrible sickness, closely followed by his father, King Edward III in 1377. The crown of England is left in the hands of a mere boy, and the great nobles gather like hungry wolves round the empty throne.

Soon the prelates of the church and the powerful Merchant Princes of London are drawn in. One of these, Sir Thomas Springall, is foully murdered within a few days of the old king’s death.

Sir John Cranston, the coroner of London, is ordered to investigate. He is assisted by Brother Athelstan, a penitent Dominican monk. From the sinister slums of Whitefriars to the barbaric splendour of the English Court, Cranston and Athelstan are drawn into a dark and terrifying web of intrigue…

The first in a scintillating historical mystery series, perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom, Susanna Gregory and S. J. Parris.

Praise for The Nightingale Gallery


'The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters' Time Out

'If you like Inspector Morse, you'll love Brother Athelstan' Prima

'Evocative and lyrical descriptions' New Statesman

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
April 27
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
275
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SELLER
Canelo Digital Publishing Limited
SIZE
1.7
MB

Customer Reviews

pablo.paz ,

Disgusting

That’s the apt word for the London of the 14th C. when Friar Æþelstan served penance as the Coroner’s scribe in investigating equally disgusting murders. The filthy environs of Southwark and the filthy thoughts and designs of their clever assassin in the filthy streets of þe City prove a challenge to the truth-seeking pair. The author rarely fails to detail the rank putrefaction and common excrement that dominated medieval life. He also is historically accurate about the squalor of common folk and the politics of Royal scheming that directed the flow of history.
The book is well written and the plot —that’s the only word that fits the rationale of so many murders before the criminals are outed— is opaque as all evidence is hidden. But the truth will out!

wwphotosf ,

Wonderful characters and well written storyline

Excellent tale of murders and deceit

More Books Like This

The Mysterium The Mysterium
2012
Troubled Bones Troubled Bones
2015
King Arthur's Bones King Arthur's Bones
2009
The False Virgin The False Virgin
2013
The Sacred Stone The Sacred Stone
2010
The Poisoned Chalice The Poisoned Chalice
2022

More Books by Paul Doherty

The House of the Red Slayer The House of the Red Slayer
2020
And Then You're Dead And Then You're Dead
2017
Murder Most Holy Murder Most Holy
2020
The Assassin's Riddle The Assassin's Riddle
2020
A Shrine of Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 1) A Shrine of Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 1)
2013
The House of Crows The House of Crows
2020

Customers Also Bought

The Last Protector The Last Protector
2020
The King’s Evil The King’s Evil
2019
The Fire Court The Fire Court
2018
The Royal Secret The Royal Secret
2021
Death and the Chapman Death and the Chapman
2021
The King's Spy The King's Spy
2012

Other Books in This Series

The House of the Red Slayer The House of the Red Slayer
2020
Murder Most Holy Murder Most Holy
2020
The Anger of God The Anger of God
2020
By Murder's Bright Light By Murder's Bright Light
2020
The House of Crows The House of Crows
2020
The Assassin's Riddle The Assassin's Riddle
2020