The Ones We're Meant to Find

    • 4.3 • 10 Ratings
    • $10.99
    • $10.99

Publisher Description

A New York Times Bestseller
An Indie Bestseller


Perfect for fans of Marie Lu and E. Lockhart, The Ones We're Meant to Find is a gripping and heartfelt YA sci-fi with mind-blowing twists. Set in a climate-ravaged future, Joan He's beautifully written novel follows the story of two sisters, separated by an ocean, desperately trying to find each other.

Cee has been trapped on an abandoned island for three years without any recollection of how she arrived, or memories from her life prior. All she knows is that somewhere out there, beyond the horizon, she has a sister named Kay, and it’s up to Cee to cross the ocean and find her.

In a world apart, 16-year-old STEM prodigy Kasey Mizuhara lives in an eco-city built for people who protected the planet?and now need protecting from it. With natural disasters on the rise due to climate change, eco-cities provide clean air, water, and shelter. Their residents, in exchange, must spend at least a third of their time in stasis pods, conducting business virtually whenever possible to reduce their environmental footprint. While Kasey, an introvert and loner, doesn’t mind the lifestyle, her sister Celia hated it. Popular and lovable, Celia much preferred the outside world. But no one could have predicted that Celia would take a boat out to sea, never to return.

Now it’s been three months since Celia’s disappearance, and Kasey has given up hope. Logic says that her sister must be dead. But nevertheless, she decides to retrace Celia’s last steps. Where they’ll lead her, she does not know. Her sister was full of secrets. But Kasey has a secret of her own.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2021
May 4
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Roaring Brook Press
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
3.8
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 7-12

Customer Reviews

tejaswipoudel ,

Meh

This book wasn't bad, but in all honesty, it fell flat for me. I had higher expectations than this book managed to deliver. Starting off I was confused and irritated, the world-building wasn't great either, it could have been done so so much better. The characters were boring, and I didn't care for any of them. That's not to say I disliked them, it's just I didn't particularly care for them either. Sci-fi is really not my thing so that might have been why, but this just wasn't great.

The cover of this book is still gorgeous, but the book inside isn't anything special. Also, this book was just really confusing, I'm not even sure I understood anything. But all that being said, this book did have some good aspects. I liked how the sister's povs connected, the sister concept was pretty cool to read. And I liked the author's writing, it's pleasant to read. Certain parts of this book were actually really interesting and thrilling. All in all, it's not a bad book, it's just not what I expected or wanted.

More Books by Joan He

2022
2022
2022
2021

Customers Also Bought

2020
2020
2021
2018
2021
2020