The Orphan of India

A Heartbreaking and Gripping Story of Love, Loss and Hope

    • 3.5 • 4 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

A lost child. A childless couple. Can they save each other?

Living on the streets of Bombay, Jyothi has no-one to turn to after her mother is involved in a tragic accident.


Monika and Jack Kingsley are desperate for a child of their own. On a trip to India, they fall in love with Jyothi and decide to adopt the orphan child.


The new family return to England, but Jyothi finds it difficult to adapt. As Monika and Jack’s relationship fractures, Jyothi is more alone than ever and music becomes her solace. But even when her extraordinary musical talent transforms into a promising career, Jyothi still doesn’t feel like she belongs. 


Then a turbulent love affair causes her to question everything. And Jyothi realises that before she can embrace her future, she must confront her past...


The Orphan of India is an utterly evocative and heart-wrenching novel that will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Santa Montefiore and Diane Chamberlain.


What readers are saying about Sharon Maas:


‘Sharon Maas has become my ‘go-to’ author… The Orphan of India is another wonderful book by Maas that has all the trademark thought and care that resonates throughout her work. A heart-rending, epic tale of loss and identity that gets into your heart.’ Bloomin’ Brilliant Books


‘Sharon Maas is one of my favourite authors… evocative and vividHighly recommended.’ Renita D’Silva


'A terrific writer.' Barbara Erskine


'A page-turning story, full of humanity, crossing cultures and continents, reminiscent of Andrea Levy.’ Katie Fforde


'This book has everything. Great characters, interesting perspective and strong settings. Put all these together with a fantastic writing style and this easily makes my top 10 books of 2016 list.' Lexi Reads


'Heart-breaking, poignant and intriguing... This truly is a powerful story that will fascinate and engross you from the very beginning until the very end.' What’s Better than Books


'The writing is stunningly evocative and sensual... I just felt immersed in the story and setting from the start.' The Book Trail


'Exceptional... evokes a whole range of emotions.' Batty About Books


'A beautifully written story of love against all the odds.' Portobello Book Blog


'A wonderful and heartrending book.' Sean's Book Reviews


'A beautiful mesmerising work... I was completely transported.' Krafti Reader


'A beautiful story about tragic love and ultimately about forgiveness… with powerful messages about love, life and learning to let things go in order to be happy.’ Life With Joy

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2017
June 28
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
366
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
Carmelite House
SIZE
2.6
MB

More Books by Sharon Maas

2019
2018
2020
2014
2021
2021

Customers Also Bought

2017
2018
2018
2018
2018
2020