• $3.99

Publisher Description

England, 1940: A tear-jerking wartime tale of an orphaned baby who needs a home, and the woman who risks everything to provide it. Fans of Before We Were Yours, Wives of War and Diney Costeloe will be utterly glued to this heartbreaking – yet beautifully hopeful – World War Two page-turner.

 

With the war raging, Lily has learned not to take life for granted. In a time of such tragedy, every day is a gift. Her husband is a soldier, fighting to save their country, and she prays that she will survive – to one day welcome him home.

 

One sweltering July night, bombs rain down. Lily and her dear friend Ethel, who is nine months pregnant, seek refuge in a shelter. Miraculously, a baby girl is born to the sound of ear-splitting shrieks and explosions in the distance. Once the raid quietens, Lily races into the house to find the newborn a blanket. But then the unthinkable happens, planes thundering right over the rooftops…

 

When Lily rouses, finding herself amongst broken glass and crumbled brick, she is devastated to discover that Ethel has been killed – leaving little Joy behind. With tears rolling down her face, Lily makes a split-second decision.

 

To save the orphaned child, Lily must tell a heartbreaking lie, a secret that she holds close to her chest for years. But when the truth comes out, whose lives will be destroyed? And will she ever be forgiven?

 

Readers absolutely love The Orphan’s Secret:

 

Wow Not sure how I can write this with my tears streaming, what a book. I loved everything about it, fabulous. Top tip, have tissues ready.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Oh, what a gorgeous book this is! Shirley Dickson is a master of historical fiction Superb… An emotional rollercoaster that manages to be both heartbreaking and also heartwarming, this epic novel will have you completely spellbound throughout. I loved it.’ SIBZZREADS,⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘What an incredibly heartbreaking story that I could not put downFantasticWarning: Tissue alert!!!… A touching and tragic book that kept me reading through the night.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I absolutely loved this… A heartbreaking story. You will need lots of tissues… Beautiful, enchanting, leaving me in tears with a big lump in my throat right to the end.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

It’s probably best if you go into this one with a box of tissues and a free afternoon with no commitments. I was a blubbering mess! An emotional roller coaster… Fantastic.’ Goodreads reviewer

 

Wow what a read! Be prepared to shed a tear.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

A truly, truly beautiful storyAn absolutely beautiful book that should be read by everyone.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Before you start reading this book can I suggest you have plenty of tissues close to hand as this book will most certainly make you cry… This book wasn’t just good, it was fabulous and I felt quite bereft after finishing it. This was an emotional and gut-wrenching read… But it is also a wonderful story.’ @lagirl2608, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘What an emotional, page-turner The Orphan’s Secret is! I loved the whole thing.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

What a compelling page turner, the author pulled me in and didn’t let goKeep the tissues handy. Such a great read!’ Maureen’s Musings, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Wow, this book really pulled the emotions. I loved it.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Wonderful… A very emotional book that will pull at your heartstrings. Will have you in tears with its heartbreaking story. Excellent 5*.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

Words are not enough to say how much I loved this book. I was hooked from the very first page right to the very end.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I’ve now read three of Ms. Dickson’s books and I have to say that each one needs a warning for having the tissue box nearby!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
November 9
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
457
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
4.3
MB

More Books by Shirley Dickson

2019
2019
2020
2020