• $3.99

Publisher Description

‘I just couldn't put this one down. I loved every page and I went through an entire box of tissues before I was done. You will keep turning the pages until the very end because you just won't be able to put it down at all.’ Crossroad Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

An utterly heartbreaking tale of two young girls, worlds apart, who are thrown together when they have lost everything. Fans of Wives of War, Before We Were Yours and Diney Costeloe will absolutely love this poignant and moving World War Two novel.

 

Germany, 1939: Eleven-year-old Frieda is boarding a ship bound for England with her little brother, Kurt. Life at home is perilous, with synagogues set alight and innocent lives lost to the Nazis, and they have no choice but to flee. But as Frieda stands on the deck crammed with frightened children, her brother jumps off, back to land.

 

England, 1939: After a devastating childhood at Blakely Hall Orphanage, seventeen-year-old Sandra longs to put her past behind her. But when war breaks out and her brother Alf is sent to fly bombers, she’s completely alone.

 

1943: When Sandra and Frieda’s paths cross in the remote countryside, each girl finds a home at last. Facing long, terrifying nights in bunkers, they huddle together as planes roar above them and distant explosions shake them to their cores. They console one another – Frieda, with no idea whether her family have been captured or if her brother survived, and Sandra praying that Alf will live to see tomorrow. 

 

The darkness of war may shroud them but as long as they have each other, they can keep a little light in the world. Will Frieda and Sandra ever be reunited with their loved ones? And will the two handwritten letters bound their way hold news of happiness… or heartbreak? 


Readers are losing their hearts to The Outcast Girls:

 

Wow. I was totally gone from Chapter 1… The story of Sandra and Freida is one I will not forget for a long time. Written with so much love! While this is my first book by this author it won’t be my last!’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

Heartbreaking and poignant… Best read with a box of tissues handy as this book is sure to make readers tear up and up again.’ Bookish Jottings 

 

Outstanding… What a page-turner this beautifully written, heart-wrenching story… This is a real tug-at-your-heartstrings book.’ Chapter Chatter Pub, 5 stars 

 

I can honestly say I loved it.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

Impossible to put down I unquestionably loved this book.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

I didn’t want to put it down!... A beautifully written story that pulls at your heart strings. Another 5-star read from Shirley Dickson!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

Wonderful I loved every page. A heartwarming story of love and sorrow and an 

endearing friendship.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

Rips at your heartstrings.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

Definitely tugged on my heartstrings I turned the pages quickly.’ Robin Loves Reading, 5 stars

 

Will warm your heart… Will bring tears to your eyes… I truly enjoyed every page. So well worth the stars, and loved it all to the end.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘A captivating and emotional wartime saga which pulls on your heartstrings right from the first pageMesmerising.’ Stardust Book Review, 5 stars 

 

I loved it!... Brilliant.’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

Wonderful… I was extremely invested, hanging on to every last word… It left me longing for more… A captivating story you can get emotionally invested in!’ Goodreads Reviewer

 

‘I have literally just finished this and had to come and start writing straight away! I loved it! Honestly what a story, I am a sucker for World War 2 books and this, well I couldn't help get invested in Sandra and Frieda's lives, their heartbreak and their joy.’ Goodreads Reviewer


‘I love WWII historicals and The Outcast Girls was just perfect for me. I am now looking for Ms Dickson's backlist, as she is a new author to me.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

 

‘I became totally invested in this story almost immediately. I know that I will read this book again.’  Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
January 24
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
381
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
3
MB

More Books by Shirley Dickson