The Peacock's Cry (Hugh Corbett Novella) The Peacock's Cry (Hugh Corbett Novella)

The Peacock's Cry (Hugh Corbett Novella‪)‬

A murder mystery from the heart of medieval England

    • 4.6 • 14 Ratings
    • $1.99
    • $1.99

Publisher Description

With Ranulf's life at stake, can Sir Hugh hope to save him?

An exclusive digital novella featuring Sir Hugh Corbett, the medieval sleuth of acclaimed historian Paul Doherty's most popular series. Includes an exclusive extract from the eighteenth Corbett novel Dark Serpent
. Perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and Ellis Peters

It is 1311 and England seethes with unrest. Sir Hugh Corbett, former keeper of the Secret Seal, has been absent from royal service for over six years. Content to live a life more relaxed with his wife and children in the country Corbett has enjoyed his time away from the machinations of court and the secrets men will kill to keep.
But a visit from his new King, Edward II, brings about change. His former protégé, Ranulf Atte-Newgate, now Senior Clerk in the Chancery, has been implicated in the death of a young novice, and Edward has made it clear that Corbett must resume his post and solve the case if Ranulf is not to hang for the murder...
Corbett knows that resuming his post will bring him to the fore of Edward's political machinations but with Ranulf's life at stake, does Corbett have any choice but to accept the Seal once more?

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
'Doherty manages to build in plot twists and misdirection and the whole thing moves at a tremendous pace to the final conclusion'
'A magical author'
'Master storytelling from one of the best authors'

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2016
July 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
192
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
2.2
MB

More Books Like This

Realm of Darkness (Hugh Corbett 23) Realm of Darkness (Hugh Corbett 23)
2022
Nightshade Nightshade
2011
Hymn to Murder (Hugh Corbett 21) Hymn to Murder (Hugh Corbett 21)
2020
The False Virgin The False Virgin
2013
The Red Velvet Turnshoe The Red Velvet Turnshoe
2009
House of Shadows House of Shadows
2008

More Books by Paul Doherty

The Nightingale Gallery The Nightingale Gallery
2020
And Then You're Dead And Then You're Dead
2017
The House of the Red Slayer The House of the Red Slayer
2020
The Magician's Death (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 14) The Magician's Death (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 14)
2012
Satan's Fire (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 9) Satan's Fire (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 9)
2012
Murder Most Holy Murder Most Holy
2020

Customers Also Bought

Nightshade Nightshade
2011
Murder on High Holborn Murder on High Holborn
2014
Death in St James's Park Death in St James's Park
2013
A Murder On London Bridge A Murder On London Bridge
2011
The Piccadilly Plot The Piccadilly Plot
2012
The Butcher Of Smithfield The Butcher Of Smithfield
2010