The Physician's Daughter

The perfect captivating historical read

    • 5.0 • 1 Rating
    • $8.99
    • $8.99

Publisher Description

'Historical fiction at its best' Tracy Rees, author of The Rose Garden

A compelling novel of female perseverance and the role of women in society set in the aftermath of the American Civil War. For readers of Tracy Chevalier.

In a world made for men, can one woman break free from tradition and walk a new path?

It is 1865, the American Civil War has just ended, and 18-year old Vita Tenney is determined to pursue her lifelong dream of becoming a country doctor like her father. But when her father tells her she must get married instead, Vita explores every means of escape - and finds one in the person of war veteran Jacob Culhane. Damaged by what he's seen in battle and with all his family gone, Jacob is seeking investors for a fledgling business. Then he meets Vita - and together they hatch a plan that should satisfy both their desires.

Months later, Vita seemingly has everything she ever wanted. But alone in a big city and haunted by the mistakes of her past, she wonders if the life she always thought she wanted was too good to be true. When love starts to compete with ambition, what will come out on top?

From the author of The Floating Theatre, The Physician's Daughter is the story of two people trying to make their way in a world that is struggling to escape its past.

'Vividly realised, and impeccably researched, with a determined female lead' Kayte Nunn, author of The Botanist's Daughter

'A riveting read set during the American civil war, about a pioneering young woman dead-set on becoming a doctor' Inga Vesper, author of The Long, Long Afternoon

'A compelling story' Heat Magazine

'In the proud tradition of female characters from Jo March to Meredith Grey, Vita Tenney takes her place as a determined woman unwilling to let society or her family control her destiny. I was captivated by The Physician's Daughter. The novel stays with you' Tony Phelan, executive producer of Grey's Anatomy

'Completely charming' Imogen Hermes Gowar, author of The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock on The Floating Theatre

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2022
March 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bonnier Publishing Fiction
SELLER
Hot Key Books Limited
SIZE
1.2
MB

Customer Reviews

Thomas Marilyn ,

Civil War Medicine

I loved this book for many reasons. For starters, it takes place just after the Civl War and in the North and the current state of medicine then. The head notes made me smile because customary practice then is cringeworthy today. A back story includes a prisoner of war camp. The plot zips along. The female protagonist wants to be a physician like her father. It’s no career for a woman. Even her father is opposed.Aye, there’s the rub. Setting, characters, and dialog are compelling. I love historic fiction, and this is a good example. I learned a lot as I was being entertained.

More Books by Martha Conway

2017
2003
2017
2018
2018
2017