Publisher Description

DETECTIVE JOE HOGARTH IS CALLED TO A BODY FOUND BENEATH SOUTHEND PIER. THE BODY BELONGS TO A FAILED ACTOR WHO HAS LONG BEEN DRINKING IN THE LAST CHANCE SALOON. BUT GARETH MANNING'S DEATH ISN'T THE ONLY MYSTERY IN TOWN. AS HOGARTH BATTLES HIS DEMONS, DARK TEMPTATION IS SET TO STRIKE AGAIN…

No one knows why Gareth Manning is dead, but everyone involved has a theory.  The man was a drinker, a wastrel with form for falling apart. But he had ambition too.  He spent his last night alive boozing on the beach, but Gareth Manning was not alone. DI Hogarth, DS Palmer and DC Simmons must work through the clues and the lies… but the deeper they delve, the murkier it gets.

Big ambition and big money pull the cast and crew of a low budget picture in all directions.

Loyalty is tested to the very limit.

A sinister plot is in the offing… but will Hogarth be lured into the trap.

The ghosts of lovers past return as Hogarth tackles his demons and fights against a wicked temptation.

The film crew killer is on the move and will soon strike again.

In a stunning conclusion, DI Hogarth and his team track down a killer while every move they make is under watch from the power behind the scenes.

A killer strikes. A beauty plays her card.

And DI Hogarth the Poison Path…

Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Ian Rankin, Val McDermid and Ruth Rendell, Helen Durrant, Joy Ellis and LJ Ross. If you love to read gripping detective thrillers with flawed characters and police procedurals with shocking twists and a noir flavour, then the DI Hogarth Darkest series is for you.

Readers have described the Darkest series as pefect for fans of British crime thrillers, Female detective novels, British crime mysteries, Police Procedurals, Heist thrillers and Noir Thrillers.

The Setting:

Southend-on-sea, Just over an hour from London. A tough and densely packed suburban town sandwiched between the sparkling Thames Estuary and a semi-rural hinterland of fields and marshes. A place where wealth and glamour sit cheek-by-jowl with addiction, poverty and crime. When he transferred to the Essex coast, ex-Met Detective Joe Hogarth might have imagined he was signing up for sun, sea and semi-retirement. But the merry hell of Southend might just have him beat. It's a good thing this DI doesn't know when to quit…

THE DI HOGARTH POISON PATH SERIES

THE POISON PATH

THE HUNTER'S PATH

THE CINDER PATH

ALSO BY SOLOMON CARTER

THE DARKEST LIES

THE SECRET FEAR

BETWEEN TWO THIEVES

LONG TIME DYING SERIES

LUCK AND JUDGMENT

LONDON CALLING

THE FINAL TRICK

HARDER THEY FALL

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
May 12
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
530
Pages
PUBLISHER
Solomon Carter
SELLER
Draft2Digital, LLC
SIZE
494.7
KB

Customer Reviews

Lulu Storekeeper ,

Lu

great characters & great story

More Books by Solomon Carter