The Postcard The Postcard

The Postcard

A completely gripping and heartbreaking World War 2 historical novel

    • 4.5 • 11 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

Holding the faded postcard in her trembling hands, Mia begins to read the one story her grandmother could never tell her, revealing a secret that will change her own life forever…


When her beloved grandmother, Ilse, is taken into hospital, Mia drops everything to travel to Germany and care for the woman who raised her. But when her grandmother briefly wakes up and asks for a man called Szymon, Mia is confused. Who is he? And why does her grandmother need to see him so desperately?


Later that night, Mia returns to her grandmother’s apartment to search for clues. She soon discovers a small parcel hidden inside one of Ilse’s suitcases. When she removes the wrapping, she finds a stack of faded postcards neatly bound together, signed with a name that makes her heart stop in her chest: Szymon.


Desperate to find Szymon before it is too late, Mia unearths a story her grandmother never told her: of childhood friendship and heartbreaking young love on the eve of the Second World War, and of a plan to rescue a young man imprisoned by the Nazis. Mia can’t quite believe her grandmother was so brave, and risked so much to save this man’s life… But did she succeed?


As the final pieces of the past come together, Mia realizes that she is about to find out what really happened to her grandmother during the war. But she doesn’t expect to uncover a secret that will change everything…


Based on a true story, this page-turning and emotional wartime novel follows one woman’s brave decision to save the man she loves from the Nazis. An unputdownable and moving story about courage in the face of unimaginable odds, perfect for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Nightingale and The Alice Network.


Praise for The Postcard:


Left me speechless and had me wanting to roll up in a ball and cry hystericallyHeartbreakingHad me in tears and kept me hooked until the final pageI could not stop thinking about the characters.’ Goodreads reviewer


Brilliant heart-puller of a read… I was completely captivatedAn emotional rollercoaster… This book is an absolute must-read. Carly Schabowski has crafted a masterpiece that will linger in my thoughts for a long time.’ @Kellyalacey


I loved this story!… The Postcard is her best book yet. I was fully invested and couldn't put it down.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


HeartbreakingReally tugged at my heart stringsBrought tears to my eyesUnputdownable.’ @leona.omahony ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


You’ll fall in love with this novel and each character in it I couldn’t put it down This is must-read.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I was hooked instantlyI loved this story.’ @pawzingtoread



Loved thisunputdownable and moving.’ Goodreads reviewer


A powerful read Totally consumed me… Heartbreaking… A tale that must be read in memory of the six million innocents who died and of those who survived.’ Christianbookaholic ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Fantastic… This is my first book by this author but it definitely won't be my last.’ Susan Loves Books


I absolutely lovedAmazing!@winoandthebooks


Wonderfulheartbreaking and powerful.’ Page Turners



Incredible… I absolutely was so invested in Mia and her grandmother’s story.’ @stamperlady50 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
August 29
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
403
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
Carmelite House
SIZE
6.3
MB

More Books Like This

The Winter Child The Winter Child
2024
A Very Faerie Christmas A Very Faerie Christmas
2017
The Devoted The Devoted
2012
Mr. Fox Mr. Fox
2011
The Best American Short Stories 2023 The Best American Short Stories 2023
2023
Remember Me Remember Me
2022

More Books by Carly Schabowski

The Watchmaker of Dachau The Watchmaker of Dachau
2021
The Rainbow The Rainbow
2021
The Ringmaster's Daughter The Ringmaster's Daughter
2020
All the Courage We Have Found All the Courage We Have Found
2023
The Winter Child The Winter Child
2024
The Secret She Kept The Secret She Kept
2023

Customers Also Bought

Daughters of Paris Daughters of Paris
2022
Sisters at War Sisters at War
2023
Her Darkest Hour Her Darkest Hour
2020
The Child Without a Home The Child Without a Home
2022
The Paris Affair The Paris Affair
2022
The Stolen Letter The Stolen Letter
2020