• $0.99

Publisher Description

The slightest mistake could cost her life...

In the summer of 314AD, dark figures lurking in the twilight of Roman society are on the prowl, and Rome is shocked by a series of gruesome murders in Paul Doherty's third novel featuring imperial secret agent Claudia. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Davis and Steven Saylor.


'The master of historical whodunit' - Booklist

Rome: August 314AD, and as the sun's insidious heat beats down, murderous forces lurk in the underbelly of the city. The normally cosseted world of Rome's rich and powerful is rocked by a series of violent abductions, as children of the elite are kidnapped and held for ransom. Meanwhile, veteran soldiers, men who served Constantine along the Great Wall in northern Britain are being barbarously murdered; the indignities inflicted on their corpses reminiscent of the gruesome practices of the Picts whom they fought so many years ago.
The Empress Helena summons her secret agent, Claudia, in a bid to resolve these macabre occurrences. But Claudia has problems of her own. The perfectly preserved corpse of a young Christian woman has been disinterred in her uncle's garden and it falls to her to investigate this mystery too. Now she must track her way through a murky tangle of politics, religion and murderous violence, ever aware that the slightest mistake could cost her life.

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
'A good example of historical fact and fiction mixed together, the past comes to life in front of your eyes'
'Paul Doherty's books are a joy to read'
'The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty's] books'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2012
October 30
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
207
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
1.1
MB

More Books by Paul Doherty