• $4.99

Publisher Description

'If you like gothic mystery, buckle up! This atmospheric read has it all'
Woman magazine

'An historical novel dripping with menace'
Shari Lapena, author of The End of Her

***********

England, 1925. Louisa Drew lost her husband in the First World War and her six-year-old twin sons in the Spanish Flu epidemic of 1918. Newly re-married and seven months pregnant, Louisa is asked by her employer to travel to Clewer Hall in Sussex where she is to photograph the contents of the house for auction.

She learns Clewer Hall was host to an infamous séance in 1896, and that the lady of the house has asked those who gathered back then to come together once more to recreate the evening.

When a mysterious child appears on the grounds, Louisa finds herself compelled to investigate and becomes embroiled in the strange happenings of the house. Gradually, she unravels the long-held secrets of the inhabitants and what really happened thirty years before... and discovers her own fate is entwined with that of Clewer Hall's.

For fans of The Silent Companions, The Little Stranger and The Familiars, an exquisitely crafted and compelling mystery that invites the reader in to the crumbling Clewer Hall to help unlock its secrets.

**********

'Utterly brilliant... full of secrets and deliciously creepy'
Lisa Hall, author of The Perfect Couple

'A spooky treat, which had me turning the pages faster and faster'
Cass Green, author of In a Cottage in a Wood

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
August 20
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Orion Publishing Group
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
2.4
MB