• $9.99

Publisher Description

A Riveting Edwardian Series Set among Britain's High Society

Lady Rowena Kinnaird may be the heiress to a Highland earldom, but she has never felt good enough--not for her father, not for the man she thought she'd marry, not for God. But after a shocking attack, she's willing to be forever an outcast if it means escaping Loch Morar.

Brice Myerston, the Duke of Nottingham, has found himself in possession of a rare treasure his enemies are prepared to kill for. While Brice has never been one to shy away from manor-born ladies, the last thing he needs is the distraction of Lady Rowena, who finds herself in a desperate situation. But when Rowena's father tries to trap Brice into marrying his daughter, Brice makes a surprising decision.

Rowena wanted to escape the Highlands, but she's reluctant to marry a notorious flirt. And when she learns that Brice is mixed up in questionable business with a stolen treasure, she fears she's about to end up directly in the path of everything she was trying to avoid.

Fiction & Literature
April 5
Baker Publishing Group
Baker Book House Company

Customer Reviews

Lori Payer ,

Wonderful Christian Romance!

I loved this story! It is the second book in this series by Roseanna M. White.

Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader ,

Second book in Ladies of the Manor series!

The Reluctant Duchess by Roseanna M. White is the second book in the Ladies of the Manor series. It is 1912 in the Highlands in Scotland. Lady Rowena Kinnaird is her father’s heir (the estate is not entailed). Rowena has a low self-esteem (does not believe she is good enough thanks to her father and stepmother). Malcolm Kinnaird wishes to marry Rowena and will do anything (I mean anything if you get my drift) to make it happen (Rowena does not like him). Rowena does not wish to marry Malcolm (cruel, mean man), and, after she is attacked, she is afraid her father will force the match. Brice Myerston is arriving with his family and friends at Gaoth Lodge (it is his second house). Brice and his family are not invited to Douglas Kinnaird’s (Earl of Lochaber) home. They tried to be friendly, but Douglas Kinnaird wants nothing to do with them (do have a feeling it has something to do with a woman). That is why they are surprised when they receive an invitation to dine at the Kinnaird home (I have a feeling the Earl is up to something). Brice has enough on his plate. Lady Catherine Pratt is relentless in her hunt for the Fire Eyes. Brice cannot let them fall into her hands. What will Brice do when he finds himself in a comprising position with Rowena (with witnesses)?

The Reluctant Duchess may be the second book in the Ladies of the Manor series, but you can read The Reluctant Duchess as a stand-alone novel. The first book will provide more of the backstory and make it easier to understand everything going on in this book (it is also a good book to read). I had some trouble with reading the Scottish dialect (some areas are written with their accent and it is hard to figure out). Overall, The Reluctant Duchess is an interesting story (I enjoyed the mystery around Fire Eyes). I found it well-written, engaging, and rich in historical details (though a wee bit predictable). We get to catch up with some people we met in The Lost Heiress (the first book in the series) as well. There are some difficult topics in the book that are not appropriate for younger readers (domestic violence being one of them). I give The Reluctant Duchess 4 out of 5 stars (which means I liked it). I look forward to reading the next book in the Ladies of the Manor series.

I received a complimentary copy of The Reluctant Duchess from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review of the novel.

Debora Wilder ,

An absolutely incredible historical romance!

This book is part of a “true” series. To follow the story you need to have read the previous book in the series before this one.

The main characters are delightful. Rowena Kinnaird is so well developed that I connected with her right away. I just wanted to wrap my arms around her and let her cry for all the pain she has endured at the hands of men before the start of the book.

I remembered Brice Myerston from the first book in the series. It was wonderful to see where his life had taken him in the intervening year. His relationship with God is fantastic. He hears from God and does his best to follow the instructions he is given. Being human he does make mistakes and I enjoy watching him work through those times and figure out where he went wrong.

The continuing story of the Fire Eyes gems from the first book is nicely interwoven into the romance between Rowena and Brice. I was captivated to see what would happen next in this plot line.

The descriptions of the different regions of Great Britain were great. It was very interesting to me to read about the dislike between the highlanders in Scotland and the English in the lowlands.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.

More Books by Roseanna M. White

Other Books in This Series