The Ringmaster's Daughter The Ringmaster's Daughter

The Ringmaster's Daughter

A beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 love story

    • 4.2 • 70 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

'Just about broke my heart… I finished this book in a couple of hours because I couldn’t put it down.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars


A heartbreaking and beautiful love story set in the darkest hours of World War Two – perfect for fans of The Nightingale and The Tattooist of Auschwitz.


Paris, 1940. Twenty-year-old Michel Bonnet lives on the edge of the law, finding work where he can at the horse fairs on the outskirts of the city. But when Paris falls to the Nazis, Michel escapes as a stowaway on a secret midnight train bound for the south. It’s a journey that will change his life forever.


It’s there Michel first sees Frieda – dark-haired, mysterious and also fleeing the Germans. Homeless and hungry, Michel would do anything for a safe place to sleep… and the chance to spend one more hour with her.


But there’s something Frieda isn’t telling him, a secret she has sworn to carry to her grave. As Michel leaves Paris behind for the lavender fields and hillside villages of the rural south, he’s in more danger than he could ever know…

What readers are saying about The Ringmaster’s Daughter:


This is the best book I have read this year, it is beautiful and atmospheric. The story really draws you in and you find yourself really caring about all of the characters and their battle for survival as outsiders in occupied France.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘I felt the heartache, fear and desperation of the characters living in France at this time… The place descriptions, particularly of Paris, were phenomenal… I read it in twenty-four hours and just could not put it down. A moving, captivating read.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Beyond amazing. I enjoyed this book so very much. The characters and storyline were fantastic. Could not put it down nor did I want to. This is going to be a must read for many many readers.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


‘The author of this book weaves a marvellous story together… It is both a thought provoking and, at times, emotionally punching read. I'm hooked. I devoured The Ringmaster's Daughter in two sessions. Brilliant story.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


The Ringmaster's Daughter was a true delight to read. From the very first page, the writing was absolutely gorgeous and painted such a beautiful picture with its imagery.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘Schabowski's debut novel, The Ringmaster's Daughter, is impressive in both expanse and execution. If I had to describe this novel in 3 words they would be: poignant, earnest, and undaunted. Schabowski is a gifted wordsmith… overall this novel is an affecting, entertaining, and intriguing read.’ NetGalley reviewer


‘The world of The Ringmaster's Daughter is well-crafted and wonderfully vivid – especially that of circus… The story is captivating.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘This is a truly sensational debut novel. Carly Schabowski is definitely one to watch out for, I certainly will be.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘This is a wonderful wartime love story but also a story about friendship, hope and sacrifice. A delightful read that will get you hooked from the get go!’ Lu Reads Anything, 5 stars

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2020
July 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
421
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
Carmelite House
SIZE
5.5
MB

Customer Reviews

Annette414 ,

Lovely story

I love this gorgeous cover! This is a love story set during WW2 and amid the backdrop of a circus. It has a cast of interesting characters each trying to survive during a troubling time. I enjoyed the story
Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for the early copy

No No Nannette ,

The Ringmaster’s Daughter

99 cents! I can’t believe it! A new author has been added to my list of favorites. I cannot wait for her future books. Characters, locale, page turning tension, this story, except for some sadness, was exceptional. I highly recommend it.

More Books Like This

Arch of Triumph Arch of Triumph
1998
Luncheon of the Boating Party Luncheon of the Boating Party
2007
The Rainbow The Rainbow
2021
Classic Russian Literature: War and Peace, plus 6 plays, plus stories and novellas by Tolstoy, translated by Aylmer and Louise Maude, in a single file Classic Russian Literature: War and Peace, plus 6 plays, plus stories and novellas by Tolstoy, translated by Aylmer and Louise Maude, in a single file
2009
The Works of Leo Tolstoy The Works of Leo Tolstoy
2010
Sacré Bleu Sacré Bleu
2012

More Books by Carly Schabowski

The Rainbow The Rainbow
2021
The Watchmaker of Dachau The Watchmaker of Dachau
2021
All the Courage We Have Found All the Courage We Have Found
2023
The Winter Child The Winter Child
2024
The Secret She Kept The Secret She Kept
2023
The Postcard The Postcard
2023

Customers Also Bought

In Darkness, Look for Stars In Darkness, Look for Stars
2020
The Violin Maker's Daughter The Violin Maker's Daughter
2019
The Stolen Letter The Stolen Letter
2020
Her Darkest Hour Her Darkest Hour
2020
The Company Daughters The Company Daughters
2020
Daughters of Paris Daughters of Paris
2022