The Romanov Empress The Romanov Empress

The Romanov Empress

A Novel of Tsarina Maria Feodorovna

    • 4.5 • 192 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

For readers of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir comes a dramatic novel of the beloved Empress Maria, the Danish princess who became the mother of the last Russian tsar.

“This epic tale is captivating and beautifully told.”—Lisa Wingate, New York Times bestselling author of Before We Were Yours

Barely nineteen, Minnie knows that her station in life as a Danish princess is to leave her family and enter into a royal marriage—as her older sister Alix has done, moving to  England to wed Queen Victoria’s eldest son. The winds of fortune bring Minnie to Russia, where she marries the Romanov heir, Alexander, and once he ascends the throne, becomes empress. When resistance to his reign strikes at the heart of her family and the tsar sets out to crush all who oppose him, Minnie—now called Maria—must tread a perilous path of compromise in a country she has come to love.

Her husband’s death leaves their son Nicholas as the inexperienced ruler of a deeply divided and crumbling empire. Determined to guide him to reforms that will bring Russia into the modern age, Maria faces implacable opposition from Nicholas’s strong-willed wife, Alexandra, whose fervor has led her into a disturbing relationship with a mystic named Rasputin. As the unstoppable wave of revolution rises anew to engulf Russia, Maria will face her most dangerous challenge and her greatest heartache.

From the opulent palaces of St. Petersburg and the intrigue-laced salons of the aristocracy to the World War I battlefields and the bloodied countryside occupied by the Bolsheviks, C. W. Gortner sweeps us into the anarchic fall of an empire and the complex, bold heart of the woman who tried to save it.

Praise for The Romanov Empress

“Timely . . . [Gortner’s] ability to weave what reads as a simple tale from such complex historical and familial storylines is impressive. . . . Maria’s life as a royal reads like a historical soap opera.”USA Today

“Gortner, an experienced hand at recreating the unique aura of a particular time and place, will deftly sweep historical-fictions fans into this glamorous, turbulent, and ultimately tragic chapter in history.”Booklist (starred review)

“Mesmerizing . . . This insightful first-person account of the downfall of the Romanov rule . . . is the powerful story of a mother trying to save her family and an aristocrat fighting to maintain rule in a country of rebellion.”—Publishers Weekly

“A twist on the tragic story you’ve heard many times before.”Bustle

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
July 10
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
448
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
7.2
MB

Customer Reviews

rubyroo5 ,

Great read

Engaging and fantastic. Fascinating to learn from a person who had a front row seat to history

Still Beautiful at 60 ,

Captivating

Enjoyed every detailed description whether C.W. was describing jewels, clothing, personalities or places. Engrossing. I’m glad I found this book.

Anthony "Chipmunk" Wiggins ,

Mildly authentic, yet refreshing

Admittedly, I dislike novels but I thoroughly enjoyed this.

More Books Like This

The American Adventuress The American Adventuress
2022
Reign of Madness Reign of Madness
2011
The Mirrored World The Mirrored World
2012
The Hakawati The Hakawati
2008
The Secret Book of Grazia dei Rossi The Secret Book of Grazia dei Rossi
2014
Lovestruck Prince! I’ll Fight the Heroine for My Villainess Fiancée! Volume 1 Lovestruck Prince! I’ll Fight the Heroine for My Villainess Fiancée! Volume 1
2023

More Books by C. W. Gortner

Mademoiselle Chanel Mademoiselle Chanel
2015
The Last Queen The Last Queen
2008
The Queen's Vow The Queen's Vow
2012
The Confessions of Catherine de Medici The Confessions of Catherine de Medici
2010
The Vatican Princess The Vatican Princess
2016
The Tudor Secret The Tudor Secret
2011

Customers Also Bought

The Sisters of Versailles The Sisters of Versailles
2015
The Queen's Fortune The Queen's Fortune
2020
The Summer Queen The Summer Queen
2014
The Autumn Throne The Autumn Throne
2016
The Rivals of Versailles The Rivals of Versailles
2016
Sisi Sisi
2016