The Romanovs

1613-1918

    • 4.3 • 71 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the national bestselling author of Stalin: An "epic history on the grandest scale” (Financial Times) about the most successful dynasty of modern times, a family who created the world’s greatest empire—and then lost it all. 

"An essential addition to the library of anyone interested in Russian history.” —The New York Times Book Review

The Romanovs ruled a sixth of the world’s surface for three centuries. How did one family turn a war-ruined principality intoc the world’s greatest empire? And how did they lose it all?
 
This is the intimate story of twenty tsars and tsarinas, some touched by genius, some by madness, but all inspired by holy autocracy and imperial ambition. Simon Sebag Montefiore’s gripping chronicle reveals their secret world of unlimited power and ruthless empire-building, overshadowed by palace conspiracy, family rivalries, sexual decadence, and wild extravagance.
 
Drawing on new archival research, Montefiore delivers an enthralling epic of triumph and tragedy, love and murder, that is both a universal study of power and a portrait of empire that helps define Russia today.

GENRE
History
RELEASED
2016
May 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
784
Pages
PUBLISHER
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
227.4
MB

Customer Reviews

Peg1gy ,

The Romanovs

I could not read fast enough! This fact packed, easy to read history is wonderful. I love the way the writer tied historical data to today's political scene. This book gave me insight into times and people not well covered in history classes. The only bad thing is that I finished the book. I want more!

john.allen035 ,

Epic Saga

The Romanovs for all the faults had a remarkable existence. I couldn’t finish this book fast enough. While my reason for reading was aimed more toward the last tsar, understanding the whole history of the dynasty helped me reshape my view of the ill-fated Tsar.

Magaliciouse ,

Fans of Wier, Fraser (Marie Antoinette)

Reads like non-fiction. Incredibly easy to get lost in. The details are hard to look away from. A must read for lovers of historical fiction.

More Books by Simon Sebag Montefiore

2011
2014
2004
2008
2015
2007

Customers Also Bought

2000
1980
2013
2009
2011
2016