• $9.99

Publisher Description

This National Book Award Finalist is a thought-provoking exploration of emotional abuse, self-reliance and the nature of evil. A heart-wrenching portrait of family crisis, this is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak and Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why.
 
For Matt and his sisters, life with their cruel, physically abusive mother is a day-to-day struggle for survival. But then Matt witnesses a man named Murdoch coming to a child’s rescue in a convenience store; and for the first time, he feels a glimmer of hope. Then, amazingly, Murdoch begins dating Matt’s mother. Life is suddenly almost good. But the relief lasts only a short time. When Murdoch inevitable breaks up with their mother, Matt knows that he’ll need to take some action. Can he call upon Murdoch to be his hero? Or will Matt have to take measures into his own hands?
 
A gripping, powerful novel that will stay with you long after you’ve read it. Nancy Werlin, the New York Times Bestselling author of Impossible, shows why she is a master of her genre.
 
 
“[A] dark but hopeful tale, with pacing and suspense guaranteed to leave readers breathlessly turning the pages.”—Booklist (starred review)
 
“Beautifully framed as a letter from Matthew to his younger sister, the suspense is paced to keep Matthew’s survival and personal revelations chock-full of dramatic tension. Bring tissues.”—Kirkus (starred review)
 
“Grace and insight.”—School Library Journal (starred review)
 
National Book Award Finalist
LA Times Book Prize Finalist
ALA Best Books of the Year
ALA Quick Pick

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2006
September 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
272
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Young Readers Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
1.4
MB

Customer Reviews

PurpleBlackButterfly ,

VERY GOOD AND VERY REALISTIC

I read this book at the library as a teenager, drawn to it because I related to it myself. I liked it then and I still like it now, call me saddist or whatever.. because reading this, I felt like I could get over it too, because other people went through it and came out alive.

Nikki Rotten ,

Enticing

I first read this book when I was a teenager. I'm an adult now and it's still my favorite novel.😍

💕bubbles ,

Amazing

I absolutely loved this book. I would recommend this to anybody. To me this book isn't just for kids. 🙌🙌🙌💜💕

More Books by Nancy Werlin