The Schoolteacher of Saint-Michel: inspired by true acts of courage, heartwrenching WW2 historical fiction The Schoolteacher of Saint-Michel: inspired by true acts of courage, heartwrenching WW2 historical fiction

The Schoolteacher of Saint-Michel: inspired by true acts of courage, heartwrenching WW2 historical fiction

    • 4.4 • 89 Ratings
    • $2.99
    • $2.99

Publisher Description

The war taught her to fight. The children taught her to hope...

Inspired by real acts of bravery and resistance, The Schoolteacher of Saint Michel is a heartrending and deeply moving story of one woman's courage and sacrifice during World War II, from the USA Today bestselling author of The Missing Piece of Nancy Moon.

This exquisitely beautiful novel is perfect for readers of The Rose Code by Kate Quinn, The Postmistress, Lilac Girls and The Girl from Vichy.

'A beautifully worked tale of bravery, woven into the reality of a time we can't forget' Mandy Robotham, author of The Berlin Girl

'An emotional, beautifully constructed read. I loved the way the clues from the past and present slowly knitted together, answering the questions that had been missing their answers for so long' Sunday Times bestselling author Jill Mansell

'Gripping, at times heartbreaking, but ultimately uplifting, I found this beautifully written novel impossible to put down' Sunday Times bestselling author Katie Fforde

______

'My darling girl, I need you to find someone for me . . .'

France, 1942. At the end of the day, the schoolteacher releases her pupils. She checks they have their identity passes, and warns them not to stop until the German guards have let them through the barrier that separates occupied France from Free France. As the little ones fly across the border and into their mothers' arms, she breathes a sigh of relief. No one is safe now. Not even the children.

Berkshire, present day. A letter left to her by her beloved late grandmother Gigi takes Hannah Stone on a journey deep into the heart of the Dordogne landscape. As she begins to unravel a forgotten history of wartime bravery and sacrifice, she discovers the heartrending secret that binds her grandmother to a village schoolteacher, the remarkable Lucie Laval . . .

** THE TRAITOR'S WIFE, the new novel from Sarah Steele, is coming soon **

______

'An engaging tale of courage and friendship. A triumph!' Gill Paul

'Evocative writing and the storytelling is masterful. It really draws the reader in' Felicity Hayes-McCoy

'A gripping journey about the quiet triumphs and breathtaking courage of so many women in wartime' Jane Bailey

Readers ADORE The Schoolteacher of Saint Michel:

'I loved this book, I finished reading it on VE Day. It is certainly a fitting tribute to the everyday people in France who resisted the German occupation in WW2. 5 stars'

'Absolutely fabulous. Highly recommend this. I've read The Missing Pieces of Nancy Moon - this is even better'

'Such a poignant story and beautiful characters. I can highly recommend this book'

'A lovely book, by turns emotional, exciting and heart-rending. The story is beautifully told. A book that will stay with me. Definitely recommended, particularly to anyone with an interest in World War II historical novels'

'A lovely story of courage and hope at a time of extreme adversity. Wonderfully written, descriptive and poignant. This one is special'

'Sheer escapism, beautifully written. I highly recommend it'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
June 24
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
2.4
MB

More Books Like This

A Gathering Storm A Gathering Storm
2011
Wildwood Wildwood
2011
A Bridge Across the Ocean A Bridge Across the Ocean
2017
Paradise House Paradise House
2009
House Broken House Broken
2015
The Girl From Barefoot House The Girl From Barefoot House
2011

More Books by Sarah Steele

The Lost Song of Paris The Lost Song of Paris
2022
The Traitor's Wife The Traitor's Wife
2023
The Missing Pieces of Nancy Moon: Escape to the Riviera with this irresistible and poignant page-turner The Missing Pieces of Nancy Moon: Escape to the Riviera with this irresistible and poignant page-turner
2020
The Shoephabet The Shoephabet
2015
An Ocean Without: Learning to Embrace Boundaries An Ocean Without: Learning to Embrace Boundaries
2024
La maestra di Saint-Michel La maestra di Saint-Michel
2022

Customers Also Bought

The Lighthouse Sisters The Lighthouse Sisters
2022
Daughters of Paris Daughters of Paris
2022
The Paris Affair The Paris Affair
2022
The Secret Agent The Secret Agent
2020
Daughters of the Resistance Daughters of the Resistance
2021
The Rainbow The Rainbow
2021