• $3.99

Publisher Description

‘They’re lying,’ my little stepson whispers, his blue eyes shining with tears as I tuck him into bed for the first time. ‘They think I’ve forgotten, but I remember everything. I know my mummy is still alive.’

 

My best friend warned me that it was too soon to marry Edward, a widower with an adorable but troubled little boy.  She said we were moving too fast. But all I could see was a kind, loving man, struggling with grief, who needed my help.

 

Yet as storm clouds gather above our small wedding ceremony, my hopes and dreams fall apart. None of my husband’s family turn up to support us. Instead of a honeymoon, we have a quiet night in. My wedding bouquet is placed on his first wife’s grave.  And then my new stepson tells me he’s sure his mother is still alive.

 

What does Noah remember and why is his father trying to make him forget? Have I been completely wrong about my husband? What happened to the woman who came before me, and how far will he go to stop me finding out the truth?

 

An utterly unputdownable, gripping, twisty psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Before I Go To Sleep, The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl.

 

What everyone is saying about The Second Marriage:

 

‘Sweet JESUS what a story. Holy smokes I was NOT prepared. This was incredibly great.’ Read with K8, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘WOW! Just WOW! Gobsmacked by the twist!! really, really, really good. I raced through this brilliant, twist filled book. It was completely engrossing, impossible to put down and the twist floored me…The plot was brilliant and consistent throughout, it's an unputdownable psychological thrill ride.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


'Wow this is another unputdownable book which once it had its claws in me I couldn’t stop reading. This is such a twisted story... I loved it!’ Book Lovers Anon UK, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


A gripping domestic thriller that you won't be able to put down… an unputdownable domestic thriller with a twist that you'll never see coming… Once I started this book, I could not put it downI was blown away by the ending of this book… 5 explosive starsLayton Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘This book is absolutely amazing!! Read it in one day I couldn’t put my phone down I just had to keep reading it!! It was a page turner when you thought you had it all figured out you didn’t !!! Love love love this book!!!!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘This was so twisty & enjoyable I could not stop turning the pages Jess Ryder's writing is so compelling and suspenseful making this novel a great reading experience… this was one crazy ride!... an amazing book!’ Oh Happy Reading, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘A gripping, page-turning thrill of a read. Do you trust him- or don’t you? A wonderful rollercoaster, a fabulous plot and a great ending.’ Linda Strong Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘This one sucked me in quickly!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘The story was engrossing. I was completely transfixed until the last page. Highly recommendWashington Post Mag, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

‘Wow. I could NOT put this one down. Perfect for fans of B. A. Paris, this is a purely addictive domestic thriller… The end is so intense it will have you at the edge of your seat until the chapter ends.’ Ludwig’s Thrillers

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
November 3
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
377
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
1.6
MB

Customer Reviews

kaykaybean13 ,

Great

Good!!

young thriller lover ,

LOVED

Finished it in two days. Needed to know because every time I thought I knew…boom! Twist!

Eb9988 ,

It has a Great Ending!

Lily takes a job as a private tutor for 8 year old Noah. She quickly falls in love with Noah’s father, Edward that is 15 years her senior. They get married quickly, barely 2 months after they met. Edward has two older daughters from his first marriage to his wife Clare. Edward’s daughters are not very fond of Lily. Noah is told that his mom, Clare, died when he was 3 years old and they are not to discuss it because it really upsets him. On their wedding night, when Lily is tucking Noah in for bed, he tells Lily that his mom is not really dead and they are all lying to her. What happened to Noah's mom? Lily sets out to learn more and finds out that there are many secrets that this family is hiding.

This was another incredible book by skilled author, Jess Ryder. I loved Lily's character and how she was determined to help Noah find out about his mother. The pacing was fast and I quickly became invested in this book. If you're looking for a great read pick this one. It is has a great ending!

Many Thanks to NetGalley and Bookouture for my ARC in exchange for my honest review.

More Books by Jess Ryder

2018
2019
2017
2020
2020
2021