• $2.99

Publisher Description

Can a beautiful Worthington widow find love again? Depends on who’s asking . . .

Before he died, Patience was the Earl of Worthington’s second wife. So why shouldn’t Patience be allowed a second chance at marriage, too? Of course, finding a new husband was not something the mother of four had ever planned on. But a surprise encounter with her first love has suddenly made the impossible seem possible all over again . . .

It seems like a lifetime ago that Richard, Viscount Wolverton, was halfway around the world, looking for adventure . . . while Patience, at her coming-out, was left with no choice but to take old Worthington’s hand. Richard never forgot the woman whose heart he yearned for—and now that he’s back, he’s not going to let her slip away again . . .

Praise for The Worthingtons series

“A classic Regency romp! Perfect for fans of Grace Burrowes.” --Caroline Linden, USA Today bestselling author on When a Marquis Chooses a Bride

Three Weeks to Wed is a delightfully heartwarming escape into the sparkling world of the Regency. Ella Quinn weaves magic.” --Cathy Maxwell, New York Times bestselling author

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2017
February 28
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
85
Pages
PUBLISHER
Kensington
SELLER
Penguin Random House LLC
SIZE
719.2
KB

Customer Reviews

Iamshelmore ,

The Second Time Around

I would rate this story much higher had the characters been more believable.
It began with a usual plot line ; lovers thwarted years ago and the immediate challenge “I’ve come to get you “ and I expected things to perk up; a bit back and forth conservation, some sparks flying ....how could you have deserted me....why did you marry the geyser... Etc. Then I find the hero has been back for YEARS, the Geyser has been dead even longer, when suddenly (between other interests and mentioned occasional flings with other women) our hero decides to pick things up where they left off nearly twenty years ago! If this love was so hot and true wouldn’t he have used the “I’ve come for you bit “ years earlier? Like as soon as he discovered she was a widow?
Our heroine is lovely (of course) and you feel sad that she’d been stuck in the country having babies since marrying the geyser, Then you find out she has absolutely no backbone what so ever. She thinks and behaves more like a 14 year old child than like a thirty-five year old matron and mother of 4., wringing her hands, retreating to her room and sobbing She doesn’t have the gumption to participate in her own life, she just floats along letting people , including her maid, tell her what feel, think, and do. I couldn’t even begin to be sorry that she is perceived to had been under some tyrant’s control since her husband died because the tyrant, Matt, is portrayed as a nice person, who is good to his family, going to extremes to provide for his large and happy household.
I found myself being more interested in Grace and Matt than
Richard and what’s-her- name as from my understanding they are the pivotal characters of the story as their actions and decisions frame the book.
I will try one of the associated stories before I make final judgement about this author. I need to believe in a character and their story to feel invested in the outcome and this book just didn’t provide enough interest.

celticmaggie ,

The Second Time Around

Ella is one of my favorite authors. She always seems to teach me something new. She gives us very real story lines and people. Patience is a widow. Her friend Matt is now the Earl of Worthington and his father made Matt the Guardian of Pae's four daughters. Richard, Lord Wolverton, has come home 20 years too late to marry Pae. Big Spoiler. She wants to stay away from him and he wants to spend all his time with her. Pae won't marry as she can't get her children. Now I love the Regency era but some of their rules are pure stupid. Matt now has a brood of 10 children between Grace's children and Pae's four girls. She won't leave her girls. This is a sad and happy book. Pae is followed by a Rake. Then Pae gets sick and only wants Richard. Now the children are cooking up something to help Pae. I like reading Ella's books. I especially like this series. This is a really good read. I hope you enjoy reading this book! I volunteered to read and review this book.

More Books by Ella Quinn

Other Books in This Series