• $7.99

Publisher Description

Mandarin Companion creates books you can read! This series offers Chinese learners enjoyable and interesting reading materials to accelerate language learning. Each book uses characters, words, and grammar that a learner is most likely to know at each level based on in-depth analysis of textbooks, education programs, and natural Chinese language. Every story is written in a style that is easy for a learner to understand and enjoyable to read.

Level 1 is intended for Chinese learners who have obtained a middle-elementary level of Chinese. Most students will be able to approach this book after one to two years of traditional formal study. The Secret Garden is written in simplified Chinese using approximately 300 unique characters, contains approximately 400 elementary words, and is 9,800 characters in length. 

Plot Summary:

Li Ye grew up never knowing the love and affection of her parents. After an epidemic leaves her an orphan, Li Ye is sent off to live with her reclusive Uncle in his sprawling estate in Nanjing. She learns of a secret garden where no one has set foot in ten years. Li Ye finds the garden and slowly discovers the secrets of the manor. With the help of new friends, she brings the garden back to life, a decision that forever changes several lives.

Visit www.MandarinCompanion.com for the latest updates on new titles.

October 2
Mind Spark Press LLC
Mind Spark Press LLC
Grades 4-17

Customer Reviews

LeChatParle ,

Captivating & Fun

The book is very good, i enjoyed reading it, and I kept coming back for more. I can’t wait for the next one to be availible on iBooks. 谢谢

I do wish, however, that there would be grammar explanations in addition to vocabulary explanations. There were only about two times in this book where I wasn’t sure what was being said, so if that could be added, that would be amazing.

More Books by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Other Books in This Series