The Secret She Kept

A gripping and moving World War 2 historical novel

    • 3.8 • 4 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

Poland, 1939: As I stare into the German pilot’s frightened eyes, I realise I have no choice but to help him. And in that moment, I know that this young man, and this decision, will change my life forever… 


When a German pilot crashes over my parents’ farmland, at first I am terrified. Who is this man? And should I help him, or have him arrested? But when I look into his eyes for the first time, I feel in my heart that I must do everything I can to save this stranger’s life.


As I begin to secretly nurse his injuries, he tells me his name is Max. And as we share whispered candlelit conversations, he admits that he didn’t crash his plane, but parachuted over Poland to defect from the Nazis. And as he slowly tells me his story, I realise I am falling in love with this man – with his bravery, and his determination to do what is right, no matter the cost.


But when the Nazis arrive, the small world we have built together is shattered in an instant. And when the Germans arrest me and my twin siblings, dragging us to a camp in the dead of night, I know that our only chance of survival, our only hope, is to be rescued.


As I sit in my cell, I think of what Max told me. He held my hand and promised me that if we were arrested, he would go undercover as a German soldier and save us. But will the guards believe his story? And, even if they do, will he make it to us before it is too late?


Based on a true story, this heartbreaking and emotional wartime novel follows one couple’s love story, and their courage in the face of unimaginable odds. An incredibly gripping and moving story, perfect for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Nightingale and The Alice Network



Praise for The Secret She Kept:



Wow just wowA beautifully written, page-turning, incredible and intriguing historical WW2 novel. It will have you captivated Danger, grief, romance and so much more unputdownable.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


AmazingWonderfulThis fabulous bookbroke my heart.” PageTurners ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Gripping and movingMind-blowing! Heartbreaking, and full of bravery, courage and strength.” Rachel Bustin ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“An exceptional read… Inspirational and exciting.” Christian Novel Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“Beautiful and captivating.” @stamperlady50 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Incredible from start to finish.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“A truly heartbreaking and heart-warming story.” @shortbookthyme ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I loved it.” Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Gripping and beautiful.” Goodreads reviewer


Absolutely heartbreakingIncredible.” Goodreads reviewer


Blew my mindIncredibleHeartbreaking.” @emthebookworm

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
May 2
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
365
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
Carmelite House
SIZE
3.8
MB

More Books by Carly Schabowski

2021
2021
2023
2020
2023
2023