• $7.99

Publisher Description

"A marvelous debut...has everything a big, thick novel should have, and I hated to put it down." -- John Grisham

"A page-turner." -- New York Times Book Review

For readers of The Story of Edgar Sawtelle, this is a dramatic and deeply moving novel about an act of violence in a small Appalachian town and the repercussions that will forever change a young man's view of human cruelty and compassion.

After seeing the death of his younger brother in a terrible home accident, fourteen-year-old Kevin and his grieving mother are sent for the summer to live with Kevin's grandfather. In this town of Medgar, Kentucky, a peeled-paint coal town deep in Appalachia, Kevin quickly falls in with a half-wild hollow kid named Buzzy Fink who schools him in the mysteries and magnificence of the woods.

The town is beset by a massive mountaintop removal operation that is blowing up the hills and back filling the hollows. Kevin's grandfather and others in town attempt to rally the citizens against the "company" and its powerful owner to stop the plunder of their mountain heritage. But when Buzzy witnesses a brutal hate crime, a sequence is set in play that will test Buzzy and Kevin to their absolute limits in an epic struggle for survival in the Kentucky mountains.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2015
January 6
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
480
Pages
PUBLISHER
Grand Central Publishing
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
2.3
MB

Customer Reviews

kendallej ,

The Secret Wisdom of The Earth

Loved this book! The characters were so expertly defined and the writing was excellent, and the tragedies heartfelt!!

Sgonzales7686 ,

Slow start, but a great read

Slow start, but a wonderful read once I got into it. I really appreciate the small town life of Kentucky and the Hollows and the woods all put together. Having lived back in this area and traveled all around it, it was nice to read about the people there and the lives they lived.

McClure Music ,

Good read

Very captivating towards the end but starts slow. Great descriptive writing, it gets you acquainted with the characters quickly.