The Shadow in the Glass The Shadow in the Glass

The Shadow in the Glass

    • 3.3 • 16 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

A deliciously gothic story of wishes and curses – a new dark fairy tale set against a Victorian backdrop full of lace and smoke.

‘Deliciously dark’
Woman Magazine

Once upon a time Ella had wished for more than her life as a lowly maid.

Now forced to work hard under the unforgiving, lecherous gaze of the man she once called stepfather, Ella’s only refuge is in the books she reads by candlelight, secreted away in the library she isn’t permitted to enter.

One night, among her beloved books of far-off lands, Ella’s wishes are answered. At the stroke of midnight, a fairy godmother makes her an offer that will change her life: seven wishes, hers to make as she pleases. But each wish comes at a price and Ella must decide whether it’s one she’s willing to pay…
A smouldering, terrifying new spin on Cinderella – perfect for fans of Laura Purcell and Erin Morgenstern.

Reviews

‘Deliciously dark’
Woman Magazine

‘A gothic twist on Cinderella that is truly exquisite. Chilling and beautiful – I devoured it in one sitting’
Bestselling author Katie Lowe

‘A thought-provoking take on a classic’
SFX

‘An impresive debut’
Dundee Courier

About the author

JJA Harwood is an author, editor and blogger. She grew up in Norfolk, read History at the University of Warwick and eventually found her way to London, which is still something of a shock for somebody used to so many fields.
When not writing, she can be found learning languages, cooking with more enthusiasm than skill, wandering off into clearly haunted houses and making friends with stray cats. THE SHADOW IN THE GLASS is her debut novel.

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2021
March 18
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperVoyager
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
4
MB

Customer Reviews

Luglia ,

Boring

Finished it only because I always finish books. It was a struggle though. The main character simple and stupid with obvious disorder. Some lines left unfinished and overall text it dissapolibting. Regret buying so much

More Books Like This

The Age of Witches The Age of Witches
2020
The Witches of Echo Park The Witches of Echo Park
2015
The Witches of New York The Witches of New York
2017
Scarlet Scarlet
2023
Pricked by Thorns Pricked by Thorns
2020
Midas Touch Book One Midas Touch Book One
2021

More Books by JJA Harwood

Customers Also Bought

Midnight in Everwood Midnight in Everwood
2021
The Toymakers The Toymakers
2020
The Fairy Bargains of Prospect Hill The Fairy Bargains of Prospect Hill
2023
Lakesedge Lakesedge
2021
Wendy, Darling Wendy, Darling
2021
Nordic Tales Nordic Tales
2019