• $8.99

Publisher Description

For fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap comes the first book in the award-winning, New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series.

This house is keeping secrets . . .

When eleven-year-old Olive and her parents move into the crumbling mansion on Linden Street and find it filled with mysterious paintings, Olive knows the place is creepy—but it isn’t until she encounters its three talking cats that she realizes there’s something darkly magical afoot. Then Olive finds a pair of antique spectacles in a dusty drawer and discovers the most peculiar thing yet: She can travel inside the house’s spooky paintings to a world that’s strangely quiet . . . and eerily sinister. But in entering Elsewhere, Olive has been ensnared in a mystery darker and more dangerous than she could have imagined, confronting a power that wants to be rid of her by any means necessary. With only the cats and an unusual boy she meets in Elsewhere on her side, it’s up to Olive to save the house from the shadows, before the lights go out for good.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2011
June 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
272
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Young Readers Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
2.6
MB

Customer Reviews

This book is AWESOME ,

People!!!

You have to read this book! I stayed up all night reading The Shadows and I just couldn't stop. I even got little chills when I was reading all alone in my room thinking that something was going to come and scare me!
Olive Dunwoody (main character) is very curious and when she finds these magical spectacles she learns that they give her the power to go through paintings. There are also 3 cats (Haratio, Harvey, and Leopold) that guard the house and help Olive learn about the mysterious paintings. They also get her out of some sticky situations.
I thought it was a very great book and I hope you will read and enjoy it!!!!!

Colors not true ,

This book is interesting, creepy, and awesome! ❤️

This book is so dramatic, creepy, and awesome! I give this 5 stars because it's now one of my favorite books! I can't wait to read the rest of these books!

Shokooh ,

So Good

This is such a good book- i am not even in to reading & I have been reading for such a long time now... You should really get it😃

More Books by Jacqueline West

Other Books in This Series