• $9.99

Publisher Description

Buried secrets, dirty lies, and unbridled greed and ambition raise the stakes down South in the lauded crime series from New York Times bestselling author Ace Atkins.

Twenty years ago, Brandon Taylor was thought to be just another teen boy who ended his life too soon. That's what almost everyone in Tibbehah County, Mississippi, said after his body and hunting rifle were found in the Big Woods. Now two New York-based reporters show up asking Sheriff Quinn Colson questions about the Taylor case. What happened to the evidence? Where are the missing files? Who really killed Brandon?

Quinn wants to help. After all, his wife Maggie was a close friend of Brandon Taylor. But Quinn was just a kid himself in 1997, and these days he's got more on his plate than twenty-year-old suspicious death. He's trying to shut down the criminal syndicate that's had a stranglehold on Tibbehah for years, trafficking drugs, stolen goods, and young women through the MidSouth. Truck stop madam Fannie Hathcock runs most of that action, and has her eyes on taking over the whole show. And then there's Senator Jimmy Vardaman, who's cut out the old political establishment riding the Syndicate's money and power--plus a hefty helping of racism and ignorance--straight to the governor's office. If he manages to get elected, the Syndicate will be untouchable. Tibbehah will be lawless.

Quinn's been fighting evil and corruption since he was a kid, at home or as a U.S. Army Ranger in Afghanistan and Iraq. This time, evil may win out.

Mysteries & Thrillers
July 9
Penguin Publishing Group

Customer Reviews

Marla Mysteries ,

The Shameless

All of the Quinn Colson series is something you should not miss! Ace Atkins is a great author with his own characters, also with Robert Parker’s Spenser series. I look forward to them all!!

fjcan2 ,

Nothing but a preview of next book

I hate it when and author doesn’t finish a story. I hate it when an author is more concerned in making money over the integrity of a good story. This book was nothing more than a preamble to his next sale. I’m totally disappointed.

More Books by Ace Atkins

Other Books in This Series