• $13.99

Publisher Description

The instant #1 New York Times bestseller

"An unforgettable—and Hollywood-bound—new thriller... A mix of Hitchcockian suspense, Agatha Christie plotting, and Greek tragedy."
Entertainment Weekly

The Silent Patient is a shocking psychological thriller of a woman’s act of violence against her husband—and of the therapist obsessed with uncovering her motive.

Alicia Berenson’s life is seemingly perfect. A famous painter married to an in-demand fashion photographer, she lives in a grand house with big windows overlooking a park in one of London’s most desirable areas. One evening her husband Gabriel returns home late from a fashion shoot, and Alicia shoots him five times in the face, and then never speaks another word.

Alicia’s refusal to talk, or give any kind of explanation, turns a domestic tragedy into something far grander, a mystery that captures the public imagination and casts Alicia into notoriety. The price of her art skyrockets, and she, the silent patient, is hidden away from the tabloids and spotlight at the Grove, a secure forensic unit in North London.

Theo Faber is a criminal psychotherapist who has waited a long time for the opportunity to work with Alicia. His determination to get her to talk and unravel the mystery of why she shot her husband takes him down a twisting path into his own motivations—a search for the truth that threatens to consume him....

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2019
February 5
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
320
Pages
PUBLISHER
Celadon Books
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
5.5
MB

Customer Reviews

RoseMurphy ,

Beach Readers Rejoice

This book is fun, super fast-paced, and easy to read. It’s exactly what most of us want in a page turning summer read. Fans of “Gone Girl” and “Girl on the Train” will thoroughly enjoy this suspenseful and twisty tale with its tormented protagonist and plenty of other psychologically crippled characters.

cezaroglu ,

Silent patient

Excellent! Could not put the book down.

mmuller ,

A little stuffy

It was clever. But find it hard to get past the Botox Bimbo he chose to represent an American in this book. Unfortunately her character spoke the wrong kind of volumes to me about this author’s view of us. If you want me, as an intelligent and VERY American reader, to continue to read your books- do not tread on my countrymen with such insulting depictions of us. The book was ok but that character was enough to ensure I will read no more of this author’s books.

More Books by Alex Michaelides