The Sisters The Sisters

The Sisters

A Novel

    • 3.7 • 196 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description


In the tradition of Marilynne Robinson's Housekeeping and Elizabeth Strout's Olive Kitteridge, a dazzling debut novel about the family bonds that remain even when they seem irretrievably torn apart

Growing up in hardscrabble Kentucky in the 1920s, with their mother dead and their stepfather an ever-present threat, Bertie Fischer and her older sister Mabel have no one but each other—with perhaps a sweetheart for Bertie waiting in the wings. But on the day that Bertie receives her eighth-grade diploma, good intentions go terribly wrong. A choice made in desperate haste sets off a chain of misunderstandings that will divide the sisters and reverberate through three generations of women.

What happens when nothing turns out as you planned? From the Depression through World War II and Vietnam, and smaller events both tragic and joyful, Bertie and Mabel forge unexpected identities that are shaped by unspeakable secrets. As the sisters have daughters and granddaughters of their own, they discover that both love and betrayal are even more complicated than they seem.

Gorgeously written, with extraordinary insight and emotional truth, Nancy Jensen's powerful debut novel illuminates the far-reaching power of family and family secrets.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2011
November 8
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
St. Martin's Publishing Group
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
956.7
KB

Customer Reviews

Kemino ,

The Sisters

Wow-wonderful book! I read a lot of books, but this is the first time I have wanted to write a review . I want everyone to read this well written, deeply touching story.

reddog409 ,

Disappointing

I read this book because my book club chose it. I found it sad and depressing. I can not accept that not one of characters was curious enough to find out what happened to Mabel.
I kept wanting someone to come to their senses and reach out to each other. At least maybe the younger generations were going to do that.
Sad sad sad

More Books Like This

Mercy Train Mercy Train
2012
Dark Shadows over Coronation Close Dark Shadows over Coronation Close
2024
Women on the Home Front Women on the Home Front
2014
Mothers and Daughters Mothers and Daughters
2011
All the Best People All the Best People
2017
Stranger in Paradise Stranger in Paradise
2011

More Books by Nancy Jensen

Customers Also Bought

Mad Honey Mad Honey
2022
American Dirt (Oprah's Book Club) American Dirt (Oprah's Book Club)
2020
The Last Thing He Told Me The Last Thing He Told Me
2021
The Silent Patient The Silent Patient
2019