• $1.99

Publisher Description

Mass murder is committed in one of the Emperor's own villas - can Claudia hunt down the perpetrator?

The Song of the Gladiator is the second dramatic historical novel from Paul Doherty, set in the turbulence of Roman society, to
feature imperial secret agent Claudia. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Davis and Steven Saylor.

313AD, and tempers are rising in Rome. The Emperor Constantine and his mother Helena are trying to make sense of the new Christian religion which is spreading through the Empire - but the Christians can't agree among themselves. Scholars are locked in a bitter struggle over whether Christ really was the son of God, and Constantine invites delegates from both sides to debate before him at his villa.
Now strange things start to happen. Envoys from both sides are found murdered in a most macabre way. The villa is secretly attacked, and the Holy Sword is stolen. Helena calls on the help of her secret agent Claudia - that shrewd, unobtrusive detective - to untangle the dangerous web of intrigue. As she sets to work, the spy is also facing a crisis in her own life...

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
'Paul Doherty's books are a joy to read'
'The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty's] books'
'A great read - I recommend to anyone who loves a good mystery'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2012
October 30
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
235
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
1.7
MB

More Books by Paul Doherty