The Sylvan and the Sand (Southerlands Cycle Duology #1‪)‬

A Standalone Enemies to Lovers Fantasy Romance

    • 4.0 • 7 Ratings
    • $0.99
    • $0.99

Publisher Description

Marry your enemy. Dare to survive.


Disappear into this scintillating tale of mortal enemies forced into a perilous, passionate marriage.


Yesenia Warwick artfully dodges her father’s talks of marriage, set on proving she is just as capable as her brothers. Her three loves—kin, homeland, and independence—are all she needs.


Corin Quinlanden suffers under the cruel contempt of his ruthless father and brother as they scheme and plot from their castle in the trees. He’s given up wishing for happiness. A strategic marriage, far from home, is as high as he dare dream.


But the king of this realm has his own plan. 


Everything the gilded Quinlandens have “earned” was stolen from the Warwicks. So when all the leaders of the realm are summoned to a celebration with the king, both houses approach this fete balancing on a sharp blade’s edge.


But the king’s celebration quickly turns to horror. The lords and ladies can only watch, helpless, as the devious king masterminds a series of marriages between their children, spinning the kingdom into chaos.


Brash, fearless Yesenia Warwick is now the unwilling bride of tender-hearted Corin Quinlanden. Neither her silver-tongued wit, nor her unmatched skill with daggers, can erase what has been done.


The choice ahead of her is simple, but impossible.


Embrace her dangerous new life in the den of her enemy, or send the kingdom to war.



The Book of All Things is a series of standalone fantasy romance tales set in the vibrant, epic world first introduced by USA Today Bestselling Author Sarah M. Cradit in the Kingdom of the White Sea trilogy.


The Sylvan and the Sand is the first story in the Southerlands Cycle of The Book of All Things.


The Southerlands Cycle:

Arranged marriages, enemies to lovers, and salt & sand redemption in the Southern Reach (medium low heat)

The Sylvan and the Sand

The Flame and the Forsaken

And more

For content warnings, please visit

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
May 9
Storyville Press
Sarah Marie Cradit

Customer Reviews

semistronglife ,

Incredible Fantasy Romance!

The third standalone story in The Book of All Things series is my favorite so far. Rhiain lives a life of privilege until one day, when a decision of hers reaps unintended consequences. She then trains as an assassin until she finds she’s been promised to the son of her father’s enemy. Strong-willed, headstrong Rhiain is angry and confused upon hearing the news. And that, my friends, is all I’ll share.

There’s so much in this book, it’s hard to provide a brief snapshot that properly encompasses the story. The complexity and nuance in this book keeps the reader riveted. Rhiain is both strong-willed and physically strong. Asterin leads a complicated life—one with a bad reputation. The banter between the two is fantastic. And the side characters lend so, so much to the story.

Tropes are plentiful and so welcome to my bookish heart. Readers get a taste of found family (yes, please!), protector, forced proximity, one bed, and a healthy dose of revenge. This is the book that keeps on giving.

I highly, highly recommend this to fantasy romance readers looking to be swept up in an epic story. I finished this book in one sitting; it was nearly impossible to put down!

Special thanks to the author for the ARC. All thoughts in this review are honest and my own.

More Books by Sarah M. Cradit


Other Books in This Series