• $9.99

Publisher Description

Now a New York Times bestseller!

From the author of Truths I Never Told You and Before I Let You Go, Kelly Rimmer’s powerful WWII novel follows a woman’s urgent search for answers to a family mystery that uncovers truths about herself that she never expected.

“Kelly Rimmer has outdone herself. I thought that Before I Let You Go was one of the best novels I had ever read…If you only have time to read one book this year The Things We Cannot Say should be that book. Keep tissues handy.”—Fresh Fiction

“Fans of The Nightingale and Lilac Girls will adore The Things We Cannot Say.” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author

In 1942, Europe remains in the relentless grip of war. Just beyond the tents of the Russian refugee camp she calls home, a young woman speaks her wedding vows. It’s a decision that will alter her destiny…and it’s a lie that will remain buried until the next century.

Since she was nine years old, Alina Dziak knew she would marry her best friend, Tomasz. Now fifteen and engaged, Alina is unconcerned by reports of Nazi soldiers at the Polish border, believing her neighbors that they pose no real threat, and dreams instead of the day Tomasz returns from college in Warsaw so they can be married. But little by little, injustice by brutal injustice, the Nazi occupation takes hold, and Alina’s tiny rural village, its families, are divided by fear and hate.

Then, as the fabric of their lives is slowly picked apart, Tomasz disappears. Where Alina used to measure time between visits from her beloved, now she measures the spaces between hope and despair, waiting for word from Tomasz and avoiding the attentions of the soldiers who patrol her parents’ farm. But for now, even deafening silence is preferable to grief.

Slipping between Nazi-occupied Poland and the frenetic pace of modern life, Kelly Rimmer creates an emotional and finely wrought narrative. The Things We Cannot Say is an unshakable reminder of the devastation when truth is silenced…and how it can take a lifetime to find our voice before we learn to trust it.

Don't miss Kelly Rimmer's new and unforgettable novel, The Warsaw Orphan.  

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
March 19
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
432
Pages
PUBLISHER
Graydon House Books
SELLER
Harlequin Digital Sales Corporation
SIZE
3.5
MB

Customer Reviews

Jessiep813 ,

Very good

I liked this one a lot. It was a good mystery and just a wonderful story

MarlyKg ,

Great Book!

A wonderful book! Must read! So interesting and enjoyed the journey! Thanks for this perspective in history! I always have wanted to learn more about my history! As my great grandmother was killed during world war 2. I look forward to soon doing it!

Readingbythesea ,

The Things We Can Not Say

Very touching toward the end. The characters are well described. It’s not one of those stories you can’t wait to see how it ends, you know before the ending.

More Books by Kelly Rimmer