The Traitor's Wife The Traitor's Wife

The Traitor's Wife

Heartbreaking WW2 historical fiction with an incredible story inspired by a woman's resistance

    • 4.6 • 40 Ratings
    • $2.99
    • $2.99

Publisher Description

'Do it,' she said to the German, her voice a rasping whisper. 'Shoot me if you dare. I am Maddalena.'

'A must-read in historical fiction' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
'I loved this book - a perfect summer read' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
'A great book . . . romance, heartbreak, intrigue and triumph - what's not to like!' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
'Captivating plot with lots of twists and turns' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
'Very well told story about the resilience and bravery women possess' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
-----
The spellbinding new book from the USA Today bestselling author of The Schoolteacher of Saint Michel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale and The Paris Library.

Naples 1943

Luisa Giordano has faced many losses: her mother to a deadly illness, the man she loved to the Nazis when war came to Italy, and her unborn child at the hands of her own husband. All Luisa has left is her voice, and when she learns her husband is colluding with the enemy, she knows she must use it to fuel the women of Naples with fire.

Los Angeles 1962
Hollywood starlet Lola Hart has come a long way from the backstreets of Naples, the glamorous parties a way to dull the pain of the past. When she is offered the role of a lifetime portraying a heroine of the Italian resistance, she knows returning home means confronting old ghosts. But as she seeks out the story behind the film, she realises there are many in Naples with secrets, and that the woman she is to play held the greatest one of all...

Inspired by the stories of the heroines of the Italian Resistance, this is a heart-wrenching dual-timeframe story which is a portrait of war and a powerful exploration of how far we will go to protect our families, set between World War II Naples and the glamorous Golden Age of Hollywood.
-----
READERS LOVE SARAH STEELE:
'I just loved it!' KATIE FFORDE
'I can taste the gelato and the sweetness of La Dolce Vita in Italy of the 1960s, coupled with the bitterness of wartime intrigue and betrayal. A perfect combination' MANDY ROBOTHAM
'A gripping and atmospheric read' TESSA HARRIS

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2023
August 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
464
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
2.9
MB

Customer Reviews

off beat chick ,

Movie Worthy

I've read this twice and absolutely love it. Yes a book about a movie being made from a book that I say should be, in real life, made into a movie! Excellently written!!!

More Books Like This

The Tuscan Contessa The Tuscan Contessa
2020
The Hidden Palace The Hidden Palace
2022
The Next Ship Home The Next Ship Home
2022
The Godmothers The Godmothers
2021
The Heart of the Ritz The Heart of the Ritz
2019
Summer at the Villa Rosa Summer at the Villa Rosa
2011

More Books by Sarah Steele

The Lost Song of Paris The Lost Song of Paris
2022
The Schoolteacher of Saint-Michel: inspired by true acts of courage, heartwrenching WW2 historical fiction The Schoolteacher of Saint-Michel: inspired by true acts of courage, heartwrenching WW2 historical fiction
2021
The Missing Pieces of Nancy Moon: Escape to the Riviera with this irresistible and poignant page-turner The Missing Pieces of Nancy Moon: Escape to the Riviera with this irresistible and poignant page-turner
2020
The Shoephabet The Shoephabet
2015
An Ocean Without: Learning to Embrace Boundaries An Ocean Without: Learning to Embrace Boundaries
2024
La maestra di Saint-Michel La maestra di Saint-Michel
2022

Customers Also Bought

The Secrets We Keep The Secrets We Keep
2022
All the Courage We Have Found All the Courage We Have Found
2023
The Shadow Network The Shadow Network
2024
Daughters of Paris Daughters of Paris
2022
The Secret Pianist The Secret Pianist
2024
The Last Letter from London The Last Letter from London
2023