The Translation of Dr Apelles The Translation of Dr Apelles

The Translation of Dr Apelles

A Love Story

    • 4.5 • 2 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

A daring new novel that "may be David Treuer's best book" (Charles Baxter)

He realizes he has discovered a document that could change his life forever.

Dr Apelles, Native American translator of Native American texts, lives a diligent existence. He works at a library and, in his free time, works on his translations. Without his realizing it, his world has become small. One day he stumbles across an ancient manuscript only he can translate. What begins as a startling discovery quickly becomes a vital quest—not only to translate the document but to find love. Through the riddle of Dr Apelles's heart, The Translation of Dr Apelles explores the boundaries of human emotion, charts the power of the language to both imprison and liberate, and maps the true dimensions of the Native American experience. As Dr Apelles's quest nears its surprising conclusion, the novel asks the reader to speculate on whose power is greater: The imaginer or the imagined? The lover or the beloved?

In this brilliant mystery of letters in the tradition of Calvino, Borges, and Saramago, David Treuer excavates the persistent myths that belittle the contemporary Native American experience and lays bare the terrible power of the imagination.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2013
May 21
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
256
Pages
PUBLISHER
Graywolf Press
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
1.5
MB

More Books Like This

The Names of Things The Names of Things
2012
Jordan County Jordan County
1992
How the Dead Dream How the Dead Dream
2007
The Vorrh The Vorrh
2015
A Time for Everything A Time for Everything
2009
Tales of Space and Time Tales of Space and Time
2015

More Books by David Treuer

The Heartbeat of Wounded Knee The Heartbeat of Wounded Knee
2019
Rez Life Rez Life
2012
Prudence Prudence
2015
The Hiawatha The Hiawatha
2013
Native American Fiction Native American Fiction
2013
Little Little
2022