The Treeline The Treeline

The Treeline

The Last Forest and the Future of Life on Earth

    • 4.8 • 9 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

Winner of the 2023 Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism

"Original and readable." ―Financial Times' Best Environmental Books of 2022

"Superb, inspiring." ―Winner, National Academies of Science Schmidt Awards for Excellence in Science Communications


“Illuminating.” —Silver Medalist, National Outdoor Book Awards

Longlisted for the American Library Association's 2023 Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction

Finalist, 2023 Banff Mountain Book Competition

Finalist, 2023 Dayton Literary Peace Prize

In the tradition of Elizabeth Kolbert and Barry Lopez, a powerful, poetic and deeply absorbing account of the “lung” at the top of the world.


For the last fifty years, the trees of the boreal forest have been moving north. Ben Rawlence's The Treeline takes us along this critical frontier of our warming planet from Norway to Siberia, Alaska to Greenland, Canada to Sweden to meet the scientists, residents and trees confronting huge geological changes. Only the hardest species survive at these latitudes including the ice-loving Dahurian larch of Siberia, the antiseptic Spruce that purifies our atmosphere, the Downy birch conquering Scandinavia, the healing Balsam poplar that Native Americans use as a cure-all and the noble Scots Pine that lives longer when surrounded by its family.

It is a journey of wonder and awe at the incredible creativity and resilience of these species and the mysterious workings of the forest upon which we rely for the air we breathe. Blending reportage with the latest science, The Treeline is a story of what might soon be the last forest left and what that means for the future of all life on earth.

GENRE
Science & Nature
RELEASED
2022
February 15
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
St. Martin's Publishing Group
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
43
MB

Customer Reviews

Jaelyns dad ,

The Treeline

The most authentic window into what we are heading for.

More Books Like This

The Journeys of Trees: A Story about Forests, People, and the Future The Journeys of Trees: A Story about Forests, People, and the Future
2020
John Muir's Incredible Travel Memoirs: A Thousand-Mile Walk to the Gulf, My First Summer in the Sierra, The Mountains of California, Travels in Alaska, Steep Trails… (Illustrated) John Muir's Incredible Travel Memoirs: A Thousand-Mile Walk to the Gulf, My First Summer in the Sierra, The Mountains of California, Travels in Alaska, Steep Trails… (Illustrated)
2015
John Muir: Wilderness Essays, Environmental Studies, Memoirs & Letters  (Illustrated Edition) John Muir: Wilderness Essays, Environmental Studies, Memoirs & Letters  (Illustrated Edition)
2017
The Wilderness Essays The Wilderness Essays
1980
A Sand County Almanac: With Other Essays on Conservation from Round River A Sand County Almanac: With Other Essays on Conservation from Round River
1968
The Heartbeat of Trees The Heartbeat of Trees
2021

More Books by Ben Rawlence

City of Thorns City of Thorns
2016
Radio Congo Radio Congo
2012
Treeline Treeline
2022
La città delle spine La città delle spine
2018
Miasto cierni Miasto cierni
2017

Customers Also Bought

Our Fragile Moment Our Fragile Moment
2023
Rooted Rooted
2021
The Last Days of the Dinosaurs The Last Days of the Dinosaurs
2022
The Heartbeat of Trees The Heartbeat of Trees
2021
Far from the Light of Heaven Far from the Light of Heaven
2021
Under a White Sky Under a White Sky
2021