• $12.99

Publisher Description

Instant New York Times Bestseller

“Unimpeachably terrific.” —The New York Times Book Review

A twisty, fast-paced, cinematic literary thriller, and an ingenious book within a book, for fans of Ruth Ware, Shari Lapena, and Donna Tartt

Marcus Goldman is riding high. The twenty-eight-year-old writer is the new darling of American letters, whose debut novel has sold two million copies. But when it comes time to produce a new book, he is sidelined by a crippling case of writer’s block. He travels to Somerset, New Hamprshire, to see his mentor, Harry Quebert, one of the country’s most respected writers, hoping to jar his creative juices as his publisher’s deadline looms. But Marcus’s plans are upended when Harry is sensationally implicated in a cold-case murder: Fifteen-year-old Nola Kellergan went missing in 1975, and Harry admits to having had an affair with her. Following a trail of clues through the backwoods and isolated beaches of New Hampshire, Marcus must answer two questions, which are mysteriously connected: Who killed Nola Kellergan? And how do you write a book to save someone’s life?

Named a Best Book of the Summer by CBS This Morning, Us Weekly, The Hollywood Reporter, Minneapolis Star Tribune, Parade, Houston Chronicle, New York Post, Tampa Bay Times, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, and The Daily Beast

Now a 10-part TV series on EPIX, starring Patrick Dempsey, Ben Schnetzer, Damon Wayans Jr., and Virginia Madsen

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2014
May 27
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
656
Pages
PUBLISHER
Penguin Publishing Group
SELLER
PENGUIN GROUP USA, INC.
SIZE
2.8
MB

Customer Reviews

carocross ,

Best Book In Ages

Highly recommend. A roller coaster ride of a story. Very different . LOVED IT!

jazbeaux ,

Child's Play

This book has a convoluted and barely-believable plot but worse, it feels like it was written by a talented 12- year old. The breathless dialogue and the stilted narrative style make it feel like this is a young -- very young -- adult novel. I even went back to the publisher's notes to see if perhaps it was intended for young audiences, but apparently not. I didn't get it. You shouldn't.

Marcus Padgett ,

Great Read

This is one of if not the best book I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading. I didn’t just read it. I lived with the characters, ran with Harry in the mornings, felt for his love to be as she watched him love another. And the ending WOW. This is a must read for anyone over the age of 25.

More Books by Joël Dicker