The Tumbling Turner Sisters The Tumbling Turner Sisters

The Tumbling Turner Sisters

A Book Club Recommendation!

    • 4.3 • 51 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

For fans of Orphan Train and Water for Elephants, a compelling historical novel from “one of the best authors of women’s fiction” (Library Journal). Set against the turbulent backdrop of American Vaudeville, four sisters embark on an unexpected adventure—and a last-ditch effort to save their family.

It’s 1919, and the Turners are barely scraping by. When their father loses his job, their irrepressible mother decides that vaudeville is their best chance to make the rent—and create a more exciting life for herself in the process.

Traveling by train from town to town, teenagers Gert, Winnie, and Kit, and recent widow Nell soon find a new kind of freedom in the company of performers who are as diverse as their acts. There is a seamier side to the business, however, and the young women face dangers and turns of fate they never could have anticipated. Heartwarming and surprising, The Tumbling Turner Sisters is ultimately a story of awakening—to unexpected possibilities, to love and heartbreak, and to the dawn of a new American era.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2016
June 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Gallery Books
SELLER
Simon & Schuster Digital Sales LLC
SIZE
13.3
MB

More Books Like This

At Home in Mossy Creek At Home in Mossy Creek
2007
A Rural Affair A Rural Affair
2012
The Devil in the Junior League The Devil in the Junior League
2010
The Ex-Debutante The Ex-Debutante
2008
Miss Aldridge Regrets Miss Aldridge Regrets
2022
Bingo Bingo
1988

More Books by Juliette Fay

Catch Us When We Fall Catch Us When We Fall
2021
Deep Down True Deep Down True
2011
City of Flickering Light City of Flickering Light
2019
The Half of It The Half of It
2023
Shelter Me Shelter Me
2008
Édes otthon Édes otthon
2015

Customers Also Bought

The Autobiography of Mrs. Tom Thumb The Autobiography of Mrs. Tom Thumb
2011
Dollface Dollface
2013
The First Actress The First Actress
2020
Windy City Blues Windy City Blues
2017
The Collector's Daughter The Collector's Daughter
2021
Strangers in the Night Strangers in the Night
2023