The Turk and My Mother: A Novel The Turk and My Mother: A Novel

The Turk and My Mother: A Novel

    • 4.3 • 9 Ratings
    • $17.99
    • $17.99

Publisher Description

Winner of the John Gardner Fiction Book Award


"Fans of Amy Tan and Carol Shields will revel in the themes of remembrance, forgiveness, family devotion, and forbidden love." —Booklist

Every family has its secrets. But toward the end of his life, George decides to tell his daughter the story of his mother and the Turk. This initial revelation leads to a narrative tour de force that follows a family through four generations and around the world—through love, marriage, and betrayal, through illness, death, and war. Mary Helen Stefaniak's charming and flawed characters and the warmth of her prose will stay with readers long after they close the book.

Reading group guide included.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2005
June 17
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
338
Pages
PUBLISHER
W. W. Norton & Company
SELLER
W.W. Norton & Company, Inc.
SIZE
4.2
MB

More Books Like This

The O. Henry Prize Stories 2017 The O. Henry Prize Stories 2017
2017
One World Two One World Two
2016
An African Quilt An African Quilt
2012
Travellers in Magic Travellers in Magic
2014
The Southern Woman The Southern Woman
2001
The Dew Breaker The Dew Breaker
2004

More Books by Mary Helen Stefaniak

The Cailiffs of Baghdad, Georgia: A Novel The Cailiffs of Baghdad, Georgia: A Novel
2011
The World of Pondside The World of Pondside
2022
The Six-Minute Memoir The Six-Minute Memoir
2022

Customers Also Bought

The Lady and the Unicorn The Lady and the Unicorn
2016
Birds of Paradise: A Novel Birds of Paradise: A Novel
2011
Selection Day Selection Day
2017
On the Black Hill On the Black Hill
2016
Alice I Have Been Alice I Have Been
2010
The Final Confession of Mabel Stark The Final Confession of Mabel Stark
2007