• $0.99

Publisher Description

Corbello, Italy, 1947. A woman and a little boy stagger into the ruins of an old house deep in the forest, wild roses overwhelming the crumbling terracotta walls. Since the war, nowhere has been safe. But they both freeze in shock when a voice calls out from the shadows…


For young mother Fosca Sentino, accepting refuge from reluctant war hero Richard – in Tuscany to escape his tragic past – is the only way to keep her little family safe. She once risked everything to spy on Nazi commanders and pass secret information to the resistenza. But after a heartbreaking betrayal, Fosca’s best friend Simonetta disappeared without trace. The whole community was torn apart, and now Fosca and her son are outcasts.


Wary of this handsome stranger at first, Fosca slowly starts to feel safe as she watches him play with her son in the overgrown orchard. But her fragile peace is shattered the moment a silver brooch is found in the garden, and she recognises it as Simonetta’s… 


Fosca has always suspected that another member of the resistenza betrayed her. With Richard by her side, she must find out if Simonetta is still alive, and clear her own name. But how did the brooch end up at the house? And with a traitor hiding in the village, willing to do anything to keep this secret buried, has Fosca put herself and her young son in terrible danger?


An absolutely gripping and heartbreaking page-turner that explores the incredible courage of ordinary people in extraordinary times. Perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen, The Nightingale, and anyone longing to lose themselves in the mountain landscapes and olive groves of rural Tuscany.


Read what everyone’s saying about Angela Petch:


Fantastic read… I loved this book… will grab you and hold onto you long after you put it down… an amazing story.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


‘I absolutely adored this book… beautiful and devastating.’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Loved it!!!Beautifulheartbreaking… The ending of the book was perfect… Definitely recommend… Loved everything about it.’ Goodreads reviewer


Heartbreaking and compelling… A beautiful story, told with such emotion and feeling that it makes you forget where you are and what you are doing!Stardust Book Reviews


Astoundingheartbreaking… a riveting read… enthrallinga must-read.’ Giascribes


‘It’s impossible not to fall under Angela Petch’s spellsure to bring a tear to the eye… superb… an emotional, uplifting, poignant and mesmerising tale… sure to haunt and linger in the reader’s mind and heart long after the last page is turned.’ Bookish Jottings, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Mesmerising… captivated me… brilliantI was completely taken over.’ Book Reviews by Shalini, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2021
April 7
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
478
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bookouture
SELLER
StoryFire Ltd
SIZE
4.6
MB

More Books by Angela Petch