The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy

    • 4.4 • 36 Ratings
    • $2.99
    • $2.99

Publisher Description

"A uniquely charming mixture of whimsy and the macabre that completely won me over. If you ever wished for an adult romance that felt like Howl's Moving Castle, THIS IS THAT BOOK." —Helen Hoang, author of The Kiss Quotient

Hart is a marshal, tasked with patrolling the strange and magical wilds of Tanria. It’s an unforgiving job, and Hart’s got nothing but time to ponder his loneliness.  

Mercy never has a moment to herself. She’s been single-handedly keeping Birdsall & Son Undertakers afloat in defiance of sullen jerks like Hart, who seems to have a gift for showing up right when her patience is thinnest. 

After yet another exasperating run-in with Mercy, Hart finds himself penning a letter addressed simply to “A Friend”. Much to his surprise, an anonymous letter comes back in return, and a tentative friendship is born.  

If only Hart knew he’s been baring his soul to the person who infuriates him most—Mercy. As the dangers from Tanria grow closer, so do the unlikely correspondents. But can their blossoming romance survive the fated discovery that their pen pals are their worst nightmares—each other?

Set in a world full of magic and demigods, donuts and small-town drama, this enchantingly quirky, utterly unique fantasy is perfect for readers of The House in the Cerulean Sea and The Invisible Library.

"Truly outstanding romantic fantasy." —India Holton

"An unabashedly offbeat adventure." —Freya Marske

"I cried twice and smiled plenty." —Olivia Atwater

"A little sweet, a little spicy, a little sharp and entirely moreish!" —Davinia Evans

"I showed up for the fantastic, fun fantasy setting but it was Hart and Mercy that kept me reading." —Ruby Dixon

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2022
August 23
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
448
Pages
PUBLISHER
Orbit
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
5.7
MB

Customer Reviews

BayBay2121 ,

Exactly what I needed to read

This was the perfect book to read after finishing a long series. The perfect standalone romance with whimsy that I never knew I needed. This will forever be one of those books I wish I could read again for the first time.

flyingwiththewind ,

Beautiful, macabre, all the feels

This book was stand-alone perfection. I love Hart, Mercy, all of their friends and loved ones, their individual growth and quests. *chefs kiss* this is it, this will be a book I reread each year for this feeling.

More Books by Megan Bannen

2018
2020