The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy

The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy

    • 4.3 • 150 Ratings
    • $4.99
    • $4.99

Publisher Description

"A uniquely charming mixture of whimsy and the macabre that completely won me over. If you ever wished for an adult romance that felt like Howl's Moving Castle, THIS IS THAT BOOK." —Helen Hoang, author of The Kiss Quotient

Hart is a marshal, tasked with patrolling the strange and magical wilds of Tanria. It’s an unforgiving job, and Hart’s got nothing but time to ponder his loneliness.  

Mercy never has a moment to herself. She’s been single-handedly keeping Birdsall & Son Undertakers afloat in defiance of sullen jerks like Hart, who seems to have a gift for showing up right when her patience is thinnest. 

After yet another exasperating run-in with Mercy, Hart finds himself penning a letter addressed simply to “A Friend”. Much to his surprise, an anonymous letter comes back in return, and a tentative friendship is born.  

If only Hart knew he’s been baring his soul to the person who infuriates him most—Mercy. As the dangers from Tanria grow closer, so do the unlikely correspondents. But can their blossoming romance survive the fated discovery that their pen pals are their worst nightmares—each other?

Set in a world full of magic and demigods, donuts and small-town drama, this enchantingly quirky, utterly unique fantasy is perfect for readers of The House in the Cerulean Sea and The Invisible Library.

"Truly outstanding romantic fantasy." —India Holton

"An unabashedly offbeat adventure." —Freya Marske

"I cried twice and smiled plenty." —Olivia Atwater

"A little sweet, a little spicy, a little sharp and entirely moreish!" —Davinia Evans

"I showed up for the fantastic, fun fantasy setting but it was Hart and Mercy that kept me reading." —Ruby Dixon

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2022
August 23
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
448
Pages
PUBLISHER
Orbit
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
6.4
MB

Customer Reviews

WinchesterBarton9498 ,

Holy heck, have Mercy on my Hart

Best dang book I’ve read in a long time

BayBay2121 ,

Exactly what I needed to read

This was the perfect book to read after finishing a long series. The perfect standalone romance with whimsy that I never knew I needed. This will forever be one of those books I wish I could read again for the first time.

flyingwiththewind ,

Beautiful, macabre, all the feels

This book was stand-alone perfection. I love Hart, Mercy, all of their friends and loved ones, their individual growth and quests. *chefs kiss* this is it, this will be a book I reread each year for this feeling.

More Books Like This

Madman's Dance Madman's Dance
2003
On Broken Wings On Broken Wings
2010
Spellbinder Spellbinder
2007
Dark Men Dark Magic (3 Fantasy Series Starters) Dark Men Dark Magic (3 Fantasy Series Starters)
2023
Virtual Evil Virtual Evil
2013
The Forbidden Lady The Forbidden Lady
2012

More Books by Megan Bannen

The Undermining of Twyla and Frank The Undermining of Twyla and Frank
2024
The Bird and the Blade The Bird and the Blade
2018
Soulswift Soulswift
2020
La Ballade funèbre de Hart et Mercy La Ballade funèbre de Hart et Mercy
2024
Corbellâme - La fin des idoles Corbellâme - La fin des idoles
2023

Customers Also Bought

Half a Soul Half a Soul
2022
The Wolf and the Woodsman The Wolf and the Woodsman
2021
The Kiss Curse The Kiss Curse
2022
Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries
2023
Nettle & Bone Nettle & Bone
2022
For the Wolf For the Wolf
2021