Publisher Description

The Unraveling is Volume 1 of a 3-part serialized novel.

In 1868 England, artist Annmar Masterson dreams of owning her own illustration shop, which the city’s ruthless industrial magnate would willing give her—but not for proper work. She flees his loathsome advances and takes advertising work on a farm in a secluded valley.

Life in the countryside turns nineteen-year-old Annmar’s world upside down. Her lifelong fanciful visions of blue threads are every bit as real as the plant and animal shifters hiding their lives from the rest of Victorian England. The secretive folk with their strange powers might not fit Annmar’s proper city ways, but the attentions of shapeshifter Daeryn Darkcoat have Annmar re-thinking how proper she wants to be.

But their timing is wretched. Daeryn is up to his whiskers fighting against a terrifying scourge. If the farm succumbs, Annmar’s job is over. Her magic might help stop the pests…if she can learn to use it properly. If not, she’ll be forced to leave the people she has come to care for and become what she fears most: nothing more than another cog in the city magnate’s gears.

The Unraveling is Volume 1 of a 3-part serialized novel for readers 15+, mixing steampunk, fantasy, shapeshifters and romantic adventure in a historical setting. The action continues in The Twisting, Volume 2 of the series.

“…full of the atmosphere of the steampunk era, the fairytale feel of magical gifts and the joy of belonging in a small, but special world.” –GoodReads reviewer. 

The Luminated Threads series:

The Unraveling, Volume One

The Twisting, Volume Two

The Binding, Volume Three

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
June 23
Sprouting Star Press
Laurel Wanrow

More Books by Laurel Wanrow