The Upside of Irrationality The Upside of Irrationality

The Upside of Irrationality

The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home

    • 3.7 • 90 Ratings
    • $14.99
    • $14.99

Publisher Description

New York Times Bestseller

“Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely offers a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.

How can large bonuses sometimes make CEOs less productive?

Why is revenge so important to us?

How can confusing directions actually help us?

Why is there a difference between what we think will make us happy and what really makes us happy?

In his groundbreaking book, Predictably Irrational, Ariely revealed the multiple biases that lead us to make unwise decisions. Now, in The Upside of Irrationality, he exposes the surprising negative and positive effects irrationality can have on our lives. Focusing on our behaviors at work and in relationships, he offers new insights and eye-opening truths about what really motivates us on the job, how one unwise action can become a long-term bad habit, how we learn to love the ones we’re with, and more. The Upside of Irrationality will change the way we see ourselves at work and at home—and cast our irrational behaviors in a more nuanced light.

GENRE
Nonfiction
RELEASED
2010
June 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins e-books
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
2.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Troll hater ,

Price

Here is an idea: write a review on the book, not the price.

BetterNow ,

Feels like filler

I have heard the author speak and love his willingness to explore our common assumptions. This book, however, felt like "filler". Started reading, then skimming, then just gave up.

maish .......... ,

Too expensive

It's a good book, but for an E book it is overpriced

More Books Like This

The Wellness Syndrome The Wellness Syndrome
2015
Mindfire: Big Ideas for Curious Minds Mindfire: Big Ideas for Curious Minds
2011
Mastering Life's Energies Mastering Life's Energies
2010
The Managed Heart The Managed Heart
2012
The Kindness Revolution The Kindness Revolution
2021
The Person You Mean to Be The Person You Mean to Be
2018

More Books by Dr. Dan Ariely

A Taste of Irrationality A Taste of Irrationality
2010
Predictably Irrational, Revised and Expanded Edition Predictably Irrational, Revised and Expanded Edition
2009
The Honest Truth About Dishonesty The Honest Truth About Dishonesty
2013
The Irrational Bundle The Irrational Bundle
2013
Dollars and Sense Dollars and Sense
2017
The Upside of Irrationality (Enhanced Edition) (Enhanced Edition) The Upside of Irrationality (Enhanced Edition) (Enhanced Edition)
2010

Customers Also Bought

Think Like a Freak Think Like a Freak
2014
Noise Noise
2021
Originals Originals
2016
Trillion Dollar Coach Trillion Dollar Coach
2019
Why We Sleep Why We Sleep
2017
The Infinite Game The Infinite Game
2019