The Viper

    • 4.6 • 128 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

In this newest Prison Camp installment, #1 New York Times bestselling author J. R. Ward pens a heart-wrenching tale of love and betrayal in the Black Dagger Brotherhood world…

Framed for the grisly murder of his shellan, Kane is condemned to the notorious prison camp—unaware of the dark truth behind his arranged mating. Centuries later, when he is horribly burned while attempting to save others, he prays he’ll finally be reunited in the Fade with his mate…not knowing what revelations await him.

Nadya is a self-taught nurse who does what she can to ease the suffering of the prisoners. When Kane comes under her care, she cannot help but empathize with his condition for very personal reasons—and as the guards take him away one last time, she fears he is facing a terrible death.

After a daring rescue, Kane is offered a treatment that will change his very nature. Choosing life, for the time being, he goes back for the female who took such good care of him—but his duty to Nadya sets him on a collision course with his own past. When long-buried secrets are exposed, his self-destruction is inevitable…unless true love can save his soul.

September 20
Gallery Books

Customer Reviews

😲lol😲 ,

Another bite that hits hard

He is was a vampire at the brink of death. She was the nurse who tethered him to life. Could they overcome their ideals of themselves and love each other?

The author has delivered another amazing story set in the hidden world of vampires. As this series revolves around the prisoners of the prison camp, we are given a different view of this shadow world. The author brings in characters from not just other books in this series but also from within the world she has created.

Kane is refined and a male of worth. But what he agrees to allow happen to him changes him. He has to adapt and regain his sense of self. His struggles are real and bring the reader into his mind and thoughts. Nadya has hidden herself from the world behind her hood and her struggle to feel loved for who she is and not how she looks is something readers can relate to. Their ups and downs and miscommunication is exactly what I would expect in such a whirlwind romance

And don’t get me started on the glimpse of Apex’s love story. The author made me so invested in the side plot that I’m thrusting for more.

Ams73 ,


I’ll start off by saying that I am a huge fan of JR Ward. But with this novel the one word I’d use to describe it is: Underwhelming. The last few novels from JR Ward have not been anywhere near as engrossing or well developed as her early BDB series novels. There are times when the writing, tone of voice, pacing, word choice don’t even feel like hers (as if someone else is ghost writing.). V didn’t sound like V, neither did Payne or Wrath. Love scenes are lukewarm. I found in this series that I I really didn’t get to know any of the characters well and was only rooting for them because they were the “good guys”/prisoners). And overall the story feels hurried and rushed. Details and plot points which could make the story richer and more engaging aren’t provided. And some plot points feel simply weak. Nadya’s embarassed by her scars…understandable. But has no where else to go so she chooses a prison?! The world of the Wolven is still not fully explained even though they play a fairly significant role in this novel - particularly as it pertains to what happens to Kane (which is not clarified at all). Won’t go into specifics here so as not to put out any spoilers.
There were brief mentions of the Wolven in the later BDB books, but even in Claimed, which I read, there are no real details about that entire population. They can dematerialize? They require the blood of the opposite sex? Who/what is the Gray Wolf? What is the back story of the race? Seems really odd to me to have to wait till at least two or three books in before we get the full picture.
Really hoping that Lassiter is going to be good next year.

More Books by J.R. Ward


Other Books in This Series