The Way I Used to Be The Way I Used to Be
Book 1 - The Way I Used to Be

The Way I Used to Be

    • 4.6 • 1.8K Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

New York Times bestseller! In the tradition of Speak, Amber Smith's extraordinary debut novel “is a heart-twisting, but ultimately hopeful, exploration of how pain can lead to strength” (The Boston Globe).

Eden was always good at being good. Starting high school didn’t change who she was. But the night her brother’s best friend rapes her, Eden’s world capsizes.

What was once simple, is now complex. What Eden once loved—who she once loved—she now hates. What she thought she knew to be true, is now lies. Nothing makes sense anymore, and she knows she’s supposed to tell someone what happened but she can’t. So she buries it instead. And she buries the way she used to be.

Told in four parts—freshman, sophomore, junior, and senior year—this provocative debut reveals the deep cuts of trauma. But it also demonstrates one young woman’s strength as she navigates the disappointment and unbearable pains of adolescence, of first love and first heartbreak, of friendships broken and rebuilt, all while learning to embrace the power of survival she never knew she had hidden within her heart.

GENRE
Young Adult
RELEASED
2016
March 22
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Margaret K. McElderry Books
SELLER
Simon & Schuster Digital Sales LLC
SIZE
9.8
MB
AUDIENCE
Grades 9 and Above

Customer Reviews

Esstaughtyou ,

5/5…Life changing.

This book changed my life. This book saved me at a time in my life where I was Eden. You will NEVER know how thankful I am for this. I have a quote from here tattooed on me & I already preordered the sequel. Thank you so much. 5/5.

NoName0891 ,

I CANT WITH THIS BOOK❤️❤️

Coming from a 14 year old, there’s so much to say about this book. It’s so perfectly written!! The way each word pieced together and matched up later on in the book was incredible. I cried many times, not even cried, sobbed while reading the last few chapters. I cannot wait for The Way I Am Now to come out!! Amber smith, you’re just an amazing author!!

hmt1134 ,

AMAZING!!!

I absolutely loved reading this book, the suspense kept me on my toes!! Cannot wait to read the 2nd book.

More Books Like This

Coming Up for Air Coming Up for Air
2020
Princess? ...I Think Not Princess? ...I Think Not
2017
Cracked Up to Be Cracked Up to Be
2008
Sometimes Never Sometimes Never
2013
What Goes Around What Goes Around
2013
Teach Me to Forget Teach Me to Forget
2016

More Books by Amber Smith

The Way I Am Now The Way I Am Now
2023
The Last to Let Go The Last to Let Go
2018
Something Like Gravity Something Like Gravity
2019
The Way I used to be The Way I used to be
2023
Tal como era (Tal como era 1) Tal como era (Tal como era 1)
2023
Como eu era antes (Vol. 1) Como eu era antes (Vol. 1)
2023

Customers Also Bought

If He Had Been with Me If He Had Been with Me
2013
Girl in Pieces Girl in Pieces
2016
You'd Be Home Now You'd Be Home Now
2021
If Only I Had Told Her If Only I Had Told Her
2024
Love and Other Words Love and Other Words
2018
The Things We Leave Unfinished The Things We Leave Unfinished
2021

Other Books in This Series