The Wedding Veil The Wedding Veil

The Wedding Veil

    • 4.3 • 201 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

This “masterfully woven…literary home run” (New York Journal of Books) follows four women across generations, bound by a beautiful wedding veil and a connection to the famous Vanderbilt family from the New York Times bestselling author of the Peachtree Bluff series.

Four women. One family heirloom. A secret connection that will change their lives—and history as they know it.

Present Day: Julia Baxter’s wedding veil, bequeathed to her great-grandmother by a mysterious woman on a train in the 1930s, has passed through generations of her family as a symbol of a happy marriage. But on the morning of her wedding day, something tells her that even the veil’s good luck isn’t enough to make her marriage last forever. Overwhelmed, she escapes to the Virgin Islands to clear her head.

Meanwhile, her grandmother, Babs, is also feeling shaken. Still grieving the death of her beloved husband, she decides to move into a retirement community. Though she hopes it’s a new beginning, she does not expect to run into an old flame, dredging up the same complicated emotions she felt a lifetime ago.

1914: Socialite Edith Vanderbilt is struggling to manage the luxurious Biltmore Estate after the death of her cherished husband. With 250 rooms to oversee and an entire village dependent on her family to stay afloat, Edith is determined to uphold the Vanderbilt legacy—and prepare her free-spirited daughter Cornelia to inherit it—despite her family’s deteriorating financial situation. But Cornelia has dreams of her own, and as she explores more of the rapidly changing world around her, she’s torn between upholding tradition and pursuing the exciting future that lies beyond Biltmore’s gilded gates.

In the vein of Therese Anne Fowler’s A Well-Behaved Woman and Jennifer Robson’s The Gown, The Wedding Veil is “a sparkling, fast-paced joy of a book that celebrates love, family, and the right to shape one’s own destiny” (Kristin Harmel, New York Times bestselling author).

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2022
March 29
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
Gallery Books
SELLER
Simon & Schuster Digital Sales LLC
SIZE
10.5
MB

Customer Reviews

Cheleybean ,

Great read!

Enjoyed the time changes and descriptions of the eras.

Kebello ,

Best book!!!!!

Beautifully written- surprises and humor at every turn. Best book i have read in a very long time!

Shelli4 ,

Great Story

Great book and a great story of history!

More Books Like This

Everything to Gain and A Secret Affair Everything to Gain and A Secret Affair
2013
I'll Be Your Blue Sky I'll Be Your Blue Sky
2018
The Secret to Southern Charm The Secret to Southern Charm
2018
Life and Other Inconveniences Life and Other Inconveniences
2019
Slightly South of Simple Slightly South of Simple
2017
Three Words for Goodbye Three Words for Goodbye
2021

More Books by Kristy Woodson Harvey

Slightly South of Simple Slightly South of Simple
2017
The Secret to Southern Charm The Secret to Southern Charm
2018
The Southern Side of Paradise The Southern Side of Paradise
2019
Feels Like Falling Feels Like Falling
2020
Under the Southern Sky Under the Southern Sky
2021
Christmas in Peachtree Bluff Christmas in Peachtree Bluff
2021

Customers Also Bought

The Summer of Lost and Found The Summer of Lost and Found
2021
Summer Love Summer Love
2022
Family Reunion Family Reunion
2021
All the Days of Summer All the Days of Summer
2023
On Ocean Boulevard On Ocean Boulevard
2020
Summers at the Saint Summers at the Saint
2024