The Whyte Harte (Matthew Jankyn, Book 1) The Whyte Harte (Matthew Jankyn, Book 1)

The Whyte Harte (Matthew Jankyn, Book 1‪)‬

A sweeping historical mystery of medieval England

    • 5.0 • 2 Ratings
    • $2.99
    • $2.99

Publisher Description

The suspicious death of the Richard II prompts an unground movement known as the White Harte...

The turbulent times of the 15th century are perfectly captured in Paul Doherty's gripping mystery, The White Harte. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Susanna Gregory.

Jankyn's narrative relates his own past, a past spent unwillingly under the tutelage of priests and friars in an Augustinian monastery; his rebellious flirtation with the heresy of Lollardism; and finally his becoming a thief, an accused traitor, and yeoman to Bishop Henry Beaufort, illegitimate grandson of 'The Black Prince', and half-brother to King Henry V. It is Beaufort who 'rescues' Jankyn from Newgate prison to serve as his investigator of the rumours that Richard II is not dead, but alive in Scotland, encouraging the small rebellions under the sign of the White Harte. It is up to Jankyn to discover the truth...

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
'The plot and mystery slowly unfolds with unexpected twists and turns before finally being unravelled. An enthralling tale by Doherty at his best'
'[You] lose yourself in the story'
'Five stars'

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2013
June 6
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
241
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
1.2
MB

More Books Like This

The Death of a King The Death of a King
2013
Lionheart Lionheart
2020
The Last of Days The Last of Days
2013
The Remorseless Queen The Remorseless Queen
2016
The Mosaic Of Shadows The Mosaic Of Shadows
2010
The Wind From Hastings The Wind From Hastings
2010

More Books by Paul Doherty

The Nightingale Gallery The Nightingale Gallery
2020
And Then You're Dead And Then You're Dead
2017
The House of the Red Slayer The House of the Red Slayer
2020
Satan's Fire (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 9) Satan's Fire (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 9)
2012
Murder Most Holy Murder Most Holy
2020
The Hugh Corbett Omnibus The Hugh Corbett Omnibus
2012

Customers Also Bought

Murder on High Holborn Murder on High Holborn
2014
The Clerkenwell Affair The Clerkenwell Affair
2020
A Conspiracy Of Violence A Conspiracy Of Violence
2010
Blood On The Strand Blood On The Strand
2010
An Unholy Alliance An Unholy Alliance
2010
Murder by Misrule Murder by Misrule
2014