The Wife The Wife

The Wife

A Novel of Psychological Suspense

    • 4.1 • 1.5K Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

“This might be the most gripping, insightful work from the best-selling author Alafair Burke yet. She poses a seemingly impossible, if undeniably compelling, challenge: a woman must either save her life or defend her husband, but not both.” — Entertainment Weekly

From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.

His Scandal - Her Secret

When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother’s home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.

Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look—at both the man she married and the women she chose not to believe.

This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke’s Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2018
January 23
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Harper
SELLER
HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS
SIZE
1.8
MB

Customer Reviews

B. Kwiecien ,

The Wife

Good book, easy read..... very unsatisfying, predictable ending. Everything was set up throughout the novel so you weren’t left guessing. Would definitely try another of his novels though, the writing was still quality and an interesting story, just not suspenseful.

Yummy pizza quick ,

Terrific Read

Amazing, page turner, surprising, exciting…..loved it. Great writing and well paced.

concernedcalvinjames ,

Ending was incomplete

Great book but is there a second???

More Books Like This

What the Widow Knew What the Widow Knew
2017
Long Time Gone Long Time Gone
2009
First, Kill the Lawyers First, Kill the Lawyers
2019
Schooled in Death (The Thea Kozak Mystery Series, Book 9) Schooled in Death (The Thea Kozak Mystery Series, Book 9)
2019
My Wicked Half-Sister My Wicked Half-Sister
2016
In a Hard Wind In a Hard Wind
2023

More Books by Alafair Burke

The Cinderella Murder The Cinderella Murder
2014
All Dressed in White All Dressed in White
2015
The Sleeping Beauty Killer The Sleeping Beauty Killer
2016
The Ex The Ex
2016
Every Breath You Take Every Breath You Take
2017
You Don't Own Me You Don't Own Me
2018

Customers Also Bought

Dear Wife Dear Wife
2019
The Other Mrs. The Other Mrs.
2020
Last Girl Ghosted Last Girl Ghosted
2021
Confessions on the 7:45: A Novel Confessions on the 7:45: A Novel
2020
The Marriage Lie The Marriage Lie
2016
The Younger Wife The Younger Wife
2022