• $12.99

Publisher Description

Instant #1 bestseller from The Globe and Mail (Toronto) and The Toronto Star

“Love and betrayal, forgiveness and redemption combine in a heady tale of the ever-present past…fantastic!” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

The author of the “engrossing” (People) international bestseller The Room on Rue Amélie returns with a moving story set amid the champagne vineyards of northern France during the darkest days of World War II, perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale.

Champagne, 1940: Inès has just married Michel, the owner of storied champagne house Maison Chauveau, when the Germans invade. As the danger mounts, Michel turns his back on his marriage to begin hiding munitions for the Résistance. Inès fears they’ll be exposed, but for Céline, half-Jewish wife of Chauveau’s chef de cave, the risk is even greater—rumors abound of Jews being shipped east to an unspeakable fate.

When Céline recklessly follows her heart in one desperate bid for happiness, and Inès makes a dangerous mistake with a Nazi collaborator, they risk the lives of those they love—and the champagne house that ties them together.

New York, 2019: Liv Kent has just lost everything when her eccentric French grandmother shows up unannounced, insisting on a trip to France. But the older woman has an ulterior motive—and a tragic, decades-old story to share. When past and present finally collide, Liv finds herself on a road to salvation that leads right to the caves of the Maison Chauveau.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
August 13
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Gallery Books
SELLER
SIMON AND SCHUSTER DIGITAL SALES INC
SIZE
10.7
MB

Customer Reviews

Grammer Val ,

Great Characters

I was put off by her use of the word anyhow but loved the book anyway. Great characters and plot twists. Will read her other books now.

Lundy lulu ,

Life of regret

A good book that was sad in that the main character lived a life of regret. I always like these WW2 historical dramas reading what it was like during the Holocaust. Very emotional and always so moving.

Kbeyer7211 ,

Twists and Turns!!

My emotions at times were on overload. I never knew whether to love or hate them! Fantastic Book!

More Books by Kristin Harmel