• $12.99

Publisher Description

Instant #1 bestseller from The Globe and Mail (Toronto) and The Toronto Star

“Love and betrayal, forgiveness and redemption combine in a heady tale of the ever-present past…fantastic!” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

The author of the “engrossing” (People) international bestseller The Room on Rue Amélie returns with a moving story set amid the champagne vineyards of northern France during the darkest days of World War II, perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale.

Champagne, 1940: Inès has just married Michel, the owner of storied champagne house Maison Chauveau, when the Germans invade. As the danger mounts, Michel turns his back on his marriage to begin hiding munitions for the Résistance. Inès fears they’ll be exposed, but for Céline, half-Jewish wife of Chauveau’s chef de cave, the risk is even greater—rumors abound of Jews being shipped east to an unspeakable fate.

When Céline recklessly follows her heart in one desperate bid for happiness, and Inès makes a dangerous mistake with a Nazi collaborator, they risk the lives of those they love—and the champagne house that ties them together.

New York, 2019: Liv Kent has just lost everything when her eccentric French grandmother shows up unannounced, insisting on a trip to France. But the older woman has an ulterior motive—and a tragic, decades-old story to share. When past and present finally collide, Liv finds herself on a road to salvation that leads right to the caves of the Maison Chauveau.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
August 13
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
Gallery Books
SELLER
SIMON AND SCHUSTER DIGITAL SALES INC
SIZE
6.4
MB

Customer Reviews

rokinrev ,

Amazing

“You can’t rewrite the past. But you can choose to live with your whole heart in the here and now.”

This is the story of the fictional house of Maison Chauveau, a champagne vintner in Northern France. The history goes back for decades prior to the Second World War, and stretches beyond the current time. It is a story that is fiction, but may have deep roots in the true French history of resistance and viniculture.

Olivia[Liv] Kent has lost everything: job, husband, and whatever life she has made in New York when her 99-year old grandmother sweeps her up and brings her to France to share the stories she needs to before it’s too late. The past and the present meet head on in history that changes everyone’s future.

I won this ARC of by then a published book in the realm of WW2 history, and, since there seems to be a glut of them, it sat for a while before I read it. It’s a bit long, but keeps you reading as Kristin Harmel pours her love of all things French into this, her latest work. Although it is a bit long, the story is wonderful. I give it 4 1/2 stars and recommend it.

More Books by Kristin Harmel